PREV & NEXT

Jungle Love: OEOEO
7/3/1

[Note: Jungle Love Lyrics are here.]

Ah, today is going swimmingly. I�m living a dream.

I�ve managed to have about three sips of coffee and the infernal machine that I worked on last week�well, I just wasn�t thinking outside the box, now was I.

It had a part that needed to be fixed. I can make this part out of three cents worth of PVC, two speaker wires, and some liquid weld, but we ordered one for $93. Well, I actually ordered it. I�m not going to have some cheesy rigged crap around here.

I just got back. I don�t really write this all at one time. Just taking a few seconds here and there. Well, sometimes I write in one big session. Often, actually. In fact, forget that stuff earlier; it�s pretty much the norm.

In any case, I finally got a chance to tell The Collector that Aisai knew which song by Morris Day and the Time was popular. I had asked The Collector, a few days ago, what the band was that had some hit song that rode on the coattails of Prince, the artist formerly known as The Artist, with his little Purple Rain thing. TC was able to identify that it was The Time. A few seconds passed and then Morris Day�s name was added. I was able to supply the info that the album was called Ice Cream Castles In The Summertime. But after that, we were at a loss.

So, that evening, or perhaps later since it wasn�t very high on my priority list, I mention this to Aisai. And she says, �Jungle Love�Oh...Ee...Oh�Ee�Oh� and dances a crazy little dance from the 80s which was undoubtedly attached to the song.

I knew this would happen, so I�m mentally prepared for it. My inner child flinches at it, but I am strong.

So, today I get to pollute TC�s mind with Morris Day�s OEOEO, which is of course, just a rip off of the original vowel chorus, EIEIO. So I tell TC, and he remembers.

Now, since I am unable to supply lyrics or a complete song, the tune gets caught in his head.

I think it would be awful to be a psychic, always getting songs and jingles stuck in your head from others who had them stuck in their head. Perhaps there would be a market for jingle extraction.

So, when I was walking by TC�s office, I heard him sing to himself �Oh�Ee�Oh�Ee�Oh.�

Mwah ha ha ha!

Thank you, Morris Day, for that catchy hook and Happy July 4. Our cat, Velvet, will turn five.

[Note: Shortening The Collectors designation to TC brings a whole Magnum P.I. feel to the Stuffo that it was sorely needing. However, I implore you, don�t watch an episode of Magnum P.I. One glance at Tom Selleck wearing those tiny shorts and white socks pulled to his knees (the socks, not the shorts, or at least not in my Magnum P.I.) will make you doubt the 1980s. And we should never doubt the 80s.]

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com