PREV & NEXT

Vanity
10/16/1

Maybe vanity isn�t the word. What I mean is the foolish thought that I�m important and worthy of attention. Whatever that is. Vanity really means emptiness, or it did. Maybe I should check the dictionary.

Ok, Webster�s has definitions 2 and 3 meaning what I want. �2 : the quality or fact of being vain. 3 : inflated pride in oneself or one's appearance : CONCEIT.�

But I, usually, when I use the term vanity, as in The Vanity of Red Lobster, I mean definition 1, �1 : something that is vain, empty, or valueless�, though 4 also has some meaning, �4 : a fashionable trifle or knicknack�, since most of what I denounce by calling it vanity is stuff that others or the dominant media culture feel is a good thing.

Lobsterfest, Bah!

Birthdays are a time when everyone, myself included, feel that the world should stop and applaud them since such-and-such years ago they actually managed to be born. It�s foolish, but it�s one of those things we do.

Now, don�t think I�m falling in with one of those crackpot man-made religions that says birthdays are bad. Oh, far be it. I�d never make such a claim a mere two days before my birthday. My gift givers may still have their receipts.

But yesterday, I got bent out of shape because two of the people that I always like to see on my birthday will be going out of town today and the next time they�ll have time for me is on the 22nd. I didn�t say anything to them, but it hurt my feelings. And look at the foolishness of this. Why should I think that they should stay around since My Day is about to happen.

Well, they could have told me beforehand so we could have done it early rather than late.

When I got home yesterday, I checked the mail and we got a gold tube. It had Aisai�s name on it and our address but that was it. I got in and called Aisai and asked her if I could open it. �Did you order something for me or something, because we got a gold tube in?�

�We got one?� She said.

�It�s a gold tube, like a mailing tube, but tiny.�

�And it has no return address?�

�No, there really isn�t room for it.�

�I heard about those on the news. Everyone is scared of them because of the Anthrax stuff.�

�Well, can I open it?� I asked.

�It�s from Redstone� she said as I opened it since I was sick of not getting a yes. It was, indeed, from Redstone, not the arsenal but the federal credit union, and it was an application for their new gold card.

Why on earth is everyone scared of getting the anthrax mailed to them? Who are you to warrant some psycho mailing you anthrax? This person is going to go through a lot of effort to be a crazed murderer, so why would they single you out?

I know for a fact no one will mail anthrax to my work or home. Why? Though I work for the government, my office really isn�t the kind that would get any kind of threat. Why bother us, we�re just lil� ol� us? And I won�t get anthrax mailed to me at home because, I am nobody.

I don�t even have enemies. Or if I do, what pathetic people that they�d actually have to settle for amiable old me as an enemy.

In my box this morning at work there is a document from the ATF. �Special Notice To All Federal Explosives Licensees And Permittees�. Some moron delivery dude doesn�t realize that when the Police and FBI installed the explosive disposal unit on the hill a good 100 yards from our office, they lied to us and told us it was evidence storage. The same simp probably put the sticker on the front door telling is that, get this, it�s a crime to steal explosives.

Heck, it�s a crime to steal bubble gum.

It looks like Kinetica, the PS2 racer, has added clothes to the formerly thonged women racers. I�ll have to check the online sources for such things. I was going to rent Kinetica on the way home, it comes out today, since Aisai has to be at �The Expo�.

There really isn�t much reason for her work to be there, they aren�t a big attraction. However, they�ll have a booth because: [1] they are important in some people�s eyes and [2] they can recruit any old sucker.

Blah blah blah. And I thought I really didn�t have much to say today.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com