PREV & NEXT

Vanity of Vanities, Red Lobster is Vanity
5/7/1

For a little over a year now, I�ve been thinking about getting a zip drive for my computer at home. At work, my connection speed is very fast and at home I do the Netzero thing, which means it is slow and will only stay connected for around five minutes before having some stagnancy error thing.

I haven�t bought the zip drive because first I need a case, and how fun is that. But it has been two years since the last computer upgrade, so I�ll probably throw some cash at it later this year.

But Saturday night, I ate a zip drive.

I priced zip drives and CD-R drives last week and a new 100 meg zip drive is around $50. Saturday, we ate at Red Lobster and the bill was $58 after tip. I ate my zip drive.

Our favorite restaurant, by far, is Guadalajara Jalisco located in the southern portion of our fair city. Since we actually live on the border the two cities here, it�s only around 15 or so miles to Guadalajara. There are closer Mexican restaurants, but I am loyal to The Guad.

We ate there Friday night. The food was excellent. I got #31 Mexican Dinner, that�s actually its title. That gives you a guacamole salad (lettuce and tomato with guacamole), a beef taco, beef enchilada, rice and beans. I had a diet coke. I forgot what Wifey had, but all total, including a 20% tip, was around $19.50.

Saturday, I fell under the spell of the radio advertisements that I�d been hearing all week. Lobsterfest is ending! Lobsterfest is ending! So we went to Dead Lobster.

I got the $24 Lobster Feast. Wifey got a wonderful looking Steak. Salads came with the meal and we also got a appetizer, fried squid, red peppers, broccoli, and mozzarella cheese. I can�t tell you how cool fried broccoli is. I would have never though of that. I had a diet coke and Wifey had a Dr. Pepper or similar.

The bill here was $48 before the tip. Waiter Dude did a good job, so I 20%ed him.

Even during our meal, which was excellent, I commented to Wifey, �I�m disappointed with the Lobster. I eat it and it�s gone.� My problem was that I was aware that I was eating super expensive food, and wasn�t really enjoying the lobster any more than I�d enjoy a good bean burrito at Taco Bell.

I did learn that I like Maine lobster better than rock lobster. But the lesson isn�t worth $50. Oh, well. We were celebrating the cat�s birthdays. Zapato and Mouse are seven.

Though rock lobsters do have their own song�

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com