PREV & NEXT

Sleeping to Sounds of the Tokyo Subway
7/10/1

Ok, let me just throw this out there into internet land and see if anyone ever finds this.

There used to be a streaming audio of a microphone in the Tokyo Subway. The fact that it was Japanese has nothing to do with anything, but it is and was the only streaming sound that was city like.

I�ve looked at half.com at the huge amount of environmental CDs. They have loons on lakes and bugs chirping and rain and all the lame stuff that I don�t want.

That streaming Tokyo subway sound put me to sleep like a rock. The server still streams the stuff from Iriomote Island, which is a dumb old jungle. It�s located here: http://www.soundx.net/sound/iriomote.ram

What I want to know is where can I find streaming sound that is city like. Heck, I�ll even settle for looped real audio if I can find it where I can understand the menus.

There used to be a site where some misguided soul was recording samples everywhere. I am thinking of getting some samples myself and being considered misguided.

I recorded 5 minutes of our backyard a few weeks ago. Aisai was weeding and I was lying in the grass listening to the sprinkler next to the neighbor�s cat.

I had my digital recorder on me at the time so I recorded for a while. The kids up the street were playing, a dog barked some�If I can find the digital recorder, and can dump it to my computer, I�ll see what I can do to put it up at my 50megs.com site.

In any case, the search is still on, occasionally, to find some streaming sound of an intersection or inside a mall. The Tokyo subway was classic since when there were announcements on the PA I couldn�t understand them anyway.

Ah, the good old days.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com