PREV & NEXT

New Orleans 2001: Day -3, -2, and -1
9/24/1

Before I get to today, which was never wonderful but I did feel distinctly better than I do now at some points, nearly all points, really. But I digress. Let me start at the beginning, when I first got off work on Friday.

When I got off work Friday, I had to go by Aisai's work and then by the post office in Madison so that I could have our mail held while we were gone. I may have even had more stuff to do than that, as I remember when I finally got to Aisai's office, I was quite tired and fairly irritated, but in a powerless, pathetic kind of way.

I picked up the form from Aisai and dropped it off at the post office in Madison. Aisai didn't get home when I thought she would. I managed to get into the house at around five, and then I got a call from Aisai. It seems that she needed to get some stuff done before she left for a week. Some kind of really important, only she has the brains to do it stuff. So she was running so late that I had to pick her up at her work at around 5:30 since we were supposed to be at my parents house at six.

Dad turned 58ish today, and since I'm not in town, we took him out to eat on Friday. I thought we were taking him out Saturday, but we switched it to Friday after Dad emailed me asking when who needed to be where. We ate at Steak & Ale, which I've been resisting since I tend to go for the places that I already know. I'm a creature of habit.

Dinner was nice, and when Aisai and I got home, we were very tired, but, since we felt that we didn't have much fun that day, we ended up staying up late trying to catch up on fun. That never works either, does it?

Saturday was like superfast. It flew buy. We slept late some, ran some errands, and then went by Tom's to allegedly help him with a flier that he's about to send out as he is now running to be Union Fat Cat at his work. We played some Gran Turismo 3, but Tom didn't like that since I am very good at GT in general. The games we had the most fun on were Micro Maniacs and Dead Or Alive 3.

I had thought that Micro Maniacs was lame when I had played it as a one-person game. It's really Micro Machines V4, but they didn't make a V4. After V3 they decided that they'd make it a game where very tiny people [about 17mm tall] run around and have super powers, blah blah. It was fun. Since they have the multi-tap, which allows four people to play, I left it over there. Now they'll get really good and I'll never be able to play against the kids anymore.

We stayed over at Tom's too long, so we had to run by Kroger's on the way back home since we had a "We Care" meeting after church on Sunday. We had two packs of brownies we could have made, and I still had a lot of unsalted nuts that I could add to them so they'd be more interesting, but it was just too late.

At Kroger, we got an Italian Creme Cake. However, I can't help but notice that this alleged Italian cake has coconut on it. Where did the Italians of days past get coconuts? Huh? It's all a giant fraud, I tell you.

Sunday morning we go to church and forget the cake. Grr. We realize this half way there. And since we go to a church that is about 15 miles away from our house, we could either not have a dessert like we signed up for, or we could be 30 minutes late.

I didn't know what to do so I kept driving there. I decided and said, "We go to church and then after Sunday school, you go down to the fellowship hall and I'll go get another cake or something at the store." It worked wonderfully and, really, you are getting the short version of the story. I got the same kind of cake but for three dollars more. I paid eight and a half dollars for a single layer round cake. Ooh, but it was good. We gave the other one to Aisai's mom.

That afternoon, we got rid of the murderous Gouramis. We just dropped them off at Rude Aquarium Shop, which Aisai has made a command decision that we'll never go back to them. Good riddance to bad rubbish.

Sunday evening Aisai and her mom worked in the nursery and I sat by myself during the service. I'd sit next to Poolphish, but he was between his sister and Rick [who, to you, is just a name] and Rick was sitting with his family. So, I could sit next to Poolphish's sister. Oh, it would be too odd. I sat alone. We ate at Taco Bell afterward with Aisai's mom and I remembered to tell them not to put that lame lime sauce on my steak soft tacos.

Then it was packing time. To make a long story short, when we finally got into bed and finished talking about what we needed and might have forgotten, etc, I looked at my watch and it was 1:18. And I usually have to wake up at 5:30. This was stripping my gears.

And now we're up to today. Which I'll start a new section with, since this wasn't really day one as it was originally titled.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com