PREV & NEXT

1998 Vacation Part III: The rest of Sunday
9/21/1

written by Postwood, Saturday, September 12, 1998

We went home from church and changed. Then we decided to see what the times were for the 3D IMAX movies at Moody Gardens. What started as us going up and seeing what times they were turned into us buying a three set of tickets for two 3D IMAX movies and admission into the Rainforest Pyramid. The only thing we forgot was to eat.

They did have very expensive restaurant there, but we didn't have time to wait before our two o'clock movie. So we went to this very popular snack thing and got a huge pretzel each. I liked mine. Aisai, who is not an eater of pretzels was not much interested in hers, so I ate the last bits of it. Then we got in line for the "Into The Deep" 3D IMAX.

There was some lil' stoogie with a laser pointer that had attachments that split the beam into pictures made of dots. When the young lad was putting pictures of butterflies on the wall, it was merely annoying when he would shine it into a young girl's eyes as a way of flirting.

Note: Don't let little boys shine lasers into your eyes. It isn't good for the retina to have holes burned into it.

The real topper, and what gets lil� stoogie in this stories is that he found he had a beam splitter which would make the shape of a well endowed reclining woman. Oddly enough, his parents didn't feel that it was out of line of him to shine this on the ceiling as we waited. Hmm.

The show was great. Never have I had kelp swash at me more realistically. And the shark having a chunk missing from his back was a great touch. It was also nice that they didn't try to make us some lame story and fit their footage to it.

The 3D IMAX of Mark Twain wasn't nearly as good. But we did get good seats despite being two of the last people into the theater. See, there is this announcement that they make right before the flick begins which tells you to scoot in so that all empty spaces are on the sides. Aisai and I got in just before this announcement. We "excuse me"ed across nearly 20 people until we were in a space that would hold maybe 6 people. As before, we even managed to get over all the people before the announcement started. I cackled maniacally as I sat. I had beaten the system with it's own rules once again. Har har har.

Ok, so I didn't cackle maniacally. But I was happy at my little accomplishment.

Aisai says I did cackle maniacally.

The Rainforest Pyramid was very nicely done. Not nearly as many butterflies as I would expect, as that is allegedly their big thing. We bought a postcard for Tom and Teri (and Jess, and Chris, and Brad) and wrote it when we were still among the gleaming white tables of the food court type thing in the main building (which isn't a pyramid) of Moody Gardens.

We ate at Whataburger and got number one combos with Dr. Peppers. Right after we ate, we mailed the postcard from that parking lot.

On the way back to our place, we stopped by the Wal-mart Supercenter there. See, no matter where you go, there you are. We spent $60 on food and snacks. Only $1.50 for a twelve pack of Mountain Dew. I got the same deal on some canned Nestea fake Tea. I'm not much for carbonated beverages when I'm really thirsty.

We got back and took a swim in the pool. We had waited until the child to pool area ratio was rather low, so it was cold and dark in my opinion. Any time I even think of swimming when it isn't over 96 degrees [35.6 C] outside, it just gives me the chills.

After that, I think I watched some TV as Aisai read.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com