PREV & NEXT

It's Bad Carma
2/5/2

That�s right, I�m wrong.

It wasn�t the mechanics at the tire place reconnecting a wire that made my car sense that there was a low water level. I don�t know why the car doesn�t overheat anymore. Maybe because we have a winter storm advisory.

If you aren�t reading this sad, reread it sad. I�m sad.

I took the Kronos into the dealer for a wash and oil change. It was going to be an extra $30 for them to pressure test the cooling system, fine. The light had started flashing again on the way there.

The new tires are great, by the way. I could probably take the Parkway to 565 cloverleaf at 57 or maybe even 60. I�d be afraid of a stray piece of gravel or some oil walling me though.

I went into the waiting room and got out my book I�m reading. The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka is pretty funny, for allegedly being some brilliant classic. The shop guy comes and gets me and leads me to my car.

The underside is all wet. It hasn�t been raining. They lowered the car and I saw where the radiator is broken. I asked if the pressure test made it worse. They told me they never did it. It takes a while to get it set up and I�d only been there about five minutes.

$480 for the whole deal. I just spent about that on tires and suspensiony stuff. Bad, bad timing.

He said, �We don�t have the parts in stock right now.�

�That�s OK, I don�t have the money.�

He was smart enough not to laugh. After he went back into garageland, I got a phone book, one of those worthless Yellow Book USA ones, and called Universal Automotive. They are hunting me down a used one.

It�ll be cheaper there than the dealer. Kronos charges $120 per hour. For comparison, Clark�s Honda, my favorite garage, charges $45 per hour. I�ve never dealt with Universal, but they have won some small business awards. Aisai�s knowledge of the world from her vantage point at the Underground Lair pays off again.

But now, my piece of crap car, needing new bearings and a radiator, I�m supposed to carry a few gallons of 50/50 antifreeze and water in it. Pull over and pour some in if the light lights up.

Alanis Morissette makes for good sad music. I�ve got Moodlogic installed again. I picked slow, sad songs.

Wallow wallow.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com