PREV & NEXT

Virtua Fighter 4 y 100 Mexicanos Dijeron
Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003

So last Friday night, I stayed up until 1:30 in the morning playing Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution. Once I tore myself away from it and collapsed in bed, I would stay asleep for the next 10 hrs.

Aisai had a �Ladie�s Breakfast� thing at church. Her mom and Christine were going also. The next thing I know Aisai has gotten back home and has brought me a plate full of food. The croissants with ham were good, if a little simple. Cheese would have been nice, or maybe some lettuce or something. The caramel cake was good, if a little too perfect and storebought tasting. But the piece de resistance was the grits of eternal horror. Oh, they were hideous.

Ok, for those of you outside the south, grits are kind of like rice, but really more like couscous. They�re little pips of hominy, which is a kind of freakish corn. In any case, plain ol� grits are good, if plain. But these�oh, I�m getting sick just thinking about them. It would be one thing if they had tomatoes in them, which they did, and they just stopped there. But it tasted like they had added sugar to it, and it tasted like they made it a few days ago and it had that fermented tomato taste. Oh, I�m gonna puke if I keep writing about them. I took one bite and regretted it.

At two, we had Brad�s birthday party, which was pretty fun in a standard family party way. I didn�t have any cake, but did have some vanilla ice cream which I put butter pretzels into (ooh, buddy). I kicked Brad�s butt at Virtua Fighter too. He got that, Ape Escape 2, and Amplitude. He ended up spending the night with his grandmother (Aisai�s mom) which allowed him to play Amplitude nearly all night.

Aisai�s mom told us the next day, at lunch, that she had wanted to kind of participate with Brad, not by playing the game, but just by staying in the room and watching it, but that it made no sense to her and was just horribly boring. Ha.

That lunch was the lunch were we had Amanda, stoner waitress. Just that one hour and 45 minutes should get it�s own entry, so I�ll wait on it.

I will let you know that it took Amanda so long to get everything going that I was about to be late for Veterans Home. See, I�m one of the people (suckers) who helps with a little church service they do at the Veterans Home. Actually, I don�t mind doing it at all. I do get nervous any time that I�m supposed to, like, teach bible stuff. The last thing I want to do is get some point across that�s inaccurate, so I basically just read a scripture and make comments at certain points. The old Vets got Collossians 2:20(ish) through 3:15(ish). I don�t remember the exact start and end points. I read it in NKJV which translates a phrase in the last verse in chapter two pretty well. In English, the phrase �will worship� doesn�t mean much. But if you say �self-imposed religion� then it gets the original meaning across.

And speaking of languages, I�m learning Spanish by watching �100 Mexicanos Dijeron�. It�s Family Freud in Spanish. I�ve asked for a little Seiko electronic Ingles/Espa�ol dictionary for my birthday, mainly because I can�t alphabetize worth anything. One irritating thing is that when I pause the show, the captioning disappears from the screen since it�s the TV that actually puts the captioning up there. Well, let me bore you by telling you something that�ll key you in on the cultural differences we have.

The topic was figures that you can make with balloons, like balloon animals. The guy who buzzed in first was wrong, and I didn�t have the word he said in my puny glossary in the back of my text book anyway. The gal who got to say something said �Perrocitas� or little dogs. �Perros� was there. Ding ding ding, her family gets it. The next gal says the Spanish word for Swordfish. Yes, balloon swordfish. Bzzz, X appears on board. (It would have been safer to just say fish, duh.) Another gal said hat, which I know I see the balloon freakos making, but that got a X. Another bonehead answer, but I don�t know what it was since my glossary sucks, and the other team gets it. �Corazones! Corrazones!� A heart shape. Ding, they get it.

What were the other two? Flowers and Rats. Yes, �ratones.� So in Mexico, all the balloon animal guys are making dogs and rats, hearts and flowers.

And, c�mon, what�s the deal? No giraffe? Giraffe should have been number one.

Better than swordfish.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com