PREV & NEXT

Mostly TV But Also Nut Trouble
Monday, Sept. 08, 2003

This weekend a few things happened. I watched three movies and found out that a friend of mine at church might have testicular cancer. I also ate out a few times.

Movie: Men In Black 2 � MIB2 is good if you think it�s going to suck and would stuck if you expected it to be as good as the first one. The charm of the characters is mostly missing from the first one. Shaloub, Smith, and Jones are still fine, but having Edgar gone and replaced by some gal who�s supposed to be attractive and Johnny Knoxville, it just doesn�t work for me. The light gal was cute though.

Movie: Clan o� d�Cavebear � Darryl Hanna was still moderately good looking when she was young. As an alleged cro-mag, she hangs out with alleged neanderthals and for the life of me I couldn�t tell you how this got an R rating as you could show the whole thing on TV without censoring it at all. Even the beheading and the sex scenes were TV-tame. Good flick that wasn�t as good as I remember.

Movie: Falling Down � This was a TV one. So much of the violence was trimmed. I still like this movie as the badguy is used as the good guy for most of the film. Those who are easily duped by rhetoric will think that Micheal Douglas�s character isn�t as flat out rude n� crazy as he is. But toward the end it becomes apparent. Robert Duvall�s in this too.

Friend�s Nut � Seems that Poolphish�s excellent year is having a snag. He got married to the very beautiful and virtuous gal that he�d been dating this year, and now he has a massive testicle. Or mass on his testicle. I joked with him about it, but since his biopsy is tomorrow, I�m not sure if joking is in order. I was thinking of making a funny sympathy card with a picture of a nut, either pecan-like or machine-type, that said �Condolences on your big nut.� But, I think I should wait until the results just in case this is bad. I think if you get testicular cancer you have to ride in the tour d�France or something too.

Also, Aisai painted the front porch while I played GTA: Vice City on Saturday. The crop duster sprayed defoliant on the cotton to the south of us, and I feel like my head is about to explode. I�m taking off at noon anyhow today since the dish person is coming to install a dish.

Dish story

So, Friday I call Dish Network and want to order the Free Dish ($150 then $10 credit on each bill for the next 15 months) and America�s Top 100 (so I can get two Spanish language channels and TechTV). Well rather than that, the gal tells me she has a better deal for me. I tell her that I�m pretty much knowing exactly what I want, but go ahead. She offers everything everything everything for free until January 8th, 2004, free installation ($49 and then a $49 credit on the first bill) and they�ll wave the $5 change fee for when I dump all the HBOs in January. All I have to pay for is my local channels.

And there�s the rub. ABC, CBS, NBC, and PBS are available with my locals for $4.99. I got a dollar off since Fox won�t allow satellite broadcast to my area. Dish is filing an appeal to Fox for me. If Fox lets me have them, it�ll be another $1.50. And also, there�s no UPN or WB. Ooh, I gotta have my WB. So, I pick up a $3 a month package where I get three WBs and four UPNs (or vice versa) from NYC, LA, Boston, Seattle, wherever. Groovy, local news from big cities. Too bad they didn�t do Houston and Tampa, my favorite big cities.

Satellite guy comes from noon to five. So I�m taking off work to play Vice City while he�s doing that. I�ve already gotten the mansion and done all the love fist and Cuban missions. I�m not looking forward to working for the Haitians and I haven�t bought the counterfeiting business yet. So, I�m collecting cars (but for the life of me I haven�t seen a Sabre this whole time) and packages. I didn�t realize that the Apache didn�t show up at the military base until you either finished the main missions or did the packages. I need that chopper.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com