PREV & NEXT

What's Up and Movies We've Seen
Tuesday, Sept. 02, 2003

I haven�t really felt like writing lately. But there is lots I could talk about.

Two weeks ago Aisai and I started remodeling our master bathroom. We took out the toilet and I laid down linoleum tile that looks like weathered terra cotta (or something). I put down new quarter round and Aisai painted the room a nice tannish putty like color. It�s called �Comforting� it�s a Behr color. She had to do two coats, which made the project last longer. And just yesterday she did the touchup work on the white trim. But, as of today, it�s been two weeks since we�ve had that toilet in the master bathroom. It�s in the hallway bathroom facing the real toilet in there.

I�ve seen a few films lately too.

Branded To Kill � though allegedly a crime noir/wacky movie classic, this thing just sucked. I couldn�t finish it.

Loves Labors Lost � an Aisai rental from Netflix. Mix 1940s crooner tunes with wire tricks with Shakespeare, shake, vomit. I watched about 2 minutes of this before fleeing. Aisai I think made it halfway through.

Kiss of the Dragon � Jet Li and Bridget Fonda. Good movie. Would have been better if Bridget had decided to act, as we know she�s capable. Good action scenes, and Jet�s just a likable guy.

Solaris � Not the old Russian version that is over 3 hrs long. This is the George Clooney version. Loved it. Not Michael Bay in space, ok. If you liked Gattaca, you might like this. If you didn�t see Gattaca, well, see that first.

Hard Rain � Recorded off TV in the middle of the night. Christian Slater and Morgan Freeman and Minnie Driver and Randy Quaid. Armored car hit during flood gets worse when cops want the money for themselves too. Better than I thought. It�s always good to go into a flick with low expectations.

Mothman Prophesies � Not one for the suspense challenged (and neither was Solaris, frankly). I liked it. Made me get over my avoidance of Gere. But, there are no 8 foot tall moths, sorry.

Mimic � This was supposed to be part of my mothman and giant bug theme. Yes, this has giant bugs. Also Mira Sorveno. Directed by Guillermo del Toro. Plot: roaches are spreading disease in NYC so scientist Sorveno makes bad bugs to kill them which then mutate to imitate humans. Groovy, but budget limited. Del Toro had a better budget for Blade II.

Fear Dot Com � Crap that looks like it�s a ripoff of The Ring. If only it was. Avoid.

Quest for Fire � Cavemen lose their fire, dammit. Meet Cheech�s daughter who teaches them: laughter, missionary position, and, oh, how to make fire. Oops, did I ruin it. If you haven�t seen it, this 1980s indie film a standout in the non-comedy caveman genre.

9|11 � Documentary following rookie fireman turns into September 11, 2001 historical footage. Well done. Shields you from gore better than expected. Notable footage: Inside tower 1 when it collapses. One block away from tower 2 when it collapses. This brought me a good sense of closure on the attack. Watch it during the day.

Another event I didn�t write about was the Oreo. See, I can�t have chocolate since it will give me migraines. Well, it wasn�t always so. Up until two years ago, I could eat chocolate anytime I wanted. But something changed in me and now I�ve got this hokey crap going on. Well, the Friday before we laid tile, I tested it. And yes, one Oreo will give me a Migraine. Oh, and Lortab 10s lose their strength over time.

Besides that, Monday was a day off, Labor Day, here in the US. Aisai has a pretty bad sinus infection, as does TC here at work. But his is also an ear infection too. And I helped someone move on Saturday.

I like helping people move.

I�ve also started working out again. I�m calling my workout program for the next few months �Damage Control.�

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com