PREV & NEXT

NASA Contact Visits The Family (quoted)
Tuesday, Aug. 19, 2003

Excerpt (used with permission) from and email from NASA Contact. Names changed to protect the guilty. I even changed his cousin Neal�s name to Alen.

Dad and I worked on cleaning out my grandfather's house some more. I grabbed some slide rule manuals; now I just need to find myself a slide rule. I also found a Japanese phrase book printed in 1943 for the sailors (my grandfather was in the Navy during WWII and Korea). Besides everyday phrases, it included a section called "To the Girls." Those phrases included:

What are you doing tonight? I love you. I adore you. I am crazy about you. I can not live without you. I fell in love with you at first sight. Call me sweetheart. Another kiss before you go.

Dad said that when he was in the Navy in Vietnam, they used to entertain themselves by lowering a light bulb over the side. The eels and sea snakes would come to it. Then they'd drop a hand grenade over the side, blow them to kingdom come, laugh, and open another beer.

Dad also said that after every firefight it was customary for someone to say: "Oh [crap], I'm shot!" Then the others would say, "Oh shot, I'm [crap]!", a reference to the need for clean underwear after battle.

My cousin Alen is angry with Mia Farrow. He is a garbage man in Connecticut. One day just after he had finished his route, he received a message to report to Mia Farrow's house. She had an old couch she wanted removed immediately. He asked her why she didn't make the deliverers of the new couch take the old one. She didn't know they could do that. Now he wishes death upon her.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com