PREV & NEXT

It Would Be Cool If They Fell Off That Cliff
Wednesday, Aug. 06, 2003

For those of you who�d like to carry my lil journal around with you, I made sure it was Plucker compatible last night. Back when I first got my Palm, I used Avantgo, which I thought was really cool. Actually, it�s really huge and sucks generally. I�d been wary of Plucker since it seemed so code like. Well, it�s not. It�s simple is what it is.

If you do load my page onto your palm, I suggest you set the images to all be resized and not keep a full size version you can click on. Though it�s your choice. My little 500 by whatever images end up being about 10 times the size of my screen. But I have an old (work horse) IIIxe.

There are some events that make a person realize that they value different things in life or are more open to different situations. Here�s an example of what I�m talking about:

When Aisai, Leeann, and I, plus the other people in our group and the guide too, were whitewater rafting, a suburban, meaning the family truckster, backed up on the road above us so that one of it�s rear wheels was dangling off the cliff. It sat there a while and the passenger was freaking out at how close their side was to the edge. We were in a calm spot, so we were all looking up at it. Most people in my boat didn�t want them to mess up and it fall. I thought it would be pretty cool to watch.

And then they attacked.

My idea was more than a little unpopular with my boating companions.

Some said that the people might be killed. No, in a Suburban you could be sitting in there with no seatbelt on and plow into Honda Civics all day and it wouldn�t hurt you. And this wasn�t really a direct impact, it would be a fall of about 30 feet into water. Heck, it�d be the coolest to see.

Some said that the people might drown. Well, not likely since there�s a raft right next to them and six more on the way down. Plus, our raft had the first aid kit, in case someone scratched their finger on the top of their soda can in the cup holder on the way down.

Aisai had the best argument against me, that it would just be plain lame to have your giant sport futility vehicle fall into a river. Yeah, it would. But they have insurance and besides, and here comes my big point, think of the anecdotal value.

I mean, it�s not like you let your car fall over a cliff and it hit a tree. No no. Much more interesting. And it�s not like you let your car fall over a cliff and fall in just a creek or any old river. No no, much more interesting that that too.

Once the truck hit the water, they�d have about three minutes to get out and hop in our raft. Unfortunatly, the truck would probably sink. Dangit, because, you know, Diamond Cutter is coming up. And while it would be cool to see the Suburban occasionally pop part of it out of the water as it was rushed through the rapids below, it would be even cooler if it was floating so you cold see it all the time.

I haven�t been talking about what I�m eating for lunch lately. But it�s peanut butter right out of the jar, eaten with a plastic fork. And no, I�m not poor. I am a little lazy. But lunch doesn�t mean that much to me and the low glycemicness of the PB is a good thing for me. Though I�m not eating some non-sweetened granola brand peanut butter. I really prefer Skippy Superchunk, but I�d have to go out of my way for that.

Since I couldn�t get Superchunk, I picked up three different smaller jars (plastic jars?) of various peanut butter denominations. I got Great Value (Hel-Mart) Chunky, Peter Pan 40% Soybean Peanut Butter Crunchy, and Jif Extra Crunchy. That Jif is misnamed by the way. It�s not Extra, baby. I�m tellin� ya.

Well, as I was eating my Peter Pan the other day, I realized that of all the peanut butter jar shapes, I think Peter Pan knew they wanted to make an ergonomic one for those who want to plastic fork it, like me. The shape of the jar is great. They could call it their Sports Bottle or something.

Another thing I haven�t mentioned much is that I have my cell phone back in service. The battery had died a long and slow death and I finally ordered an extended life one from Daydeal. This thing last nearly a week, and we�re talking in a 3390. Well, a 3390 that rarely gets used. Maybe 2 minutes a day. But my great plan works wonderfully with this. I pay $1.25 per phone per month, so $2.50. And then seven cents a minute. When my phone was near dead all the time we actually had our bill $2.92. That�s for both of us.

And Aisai needs a new phone. Her old Mitsubishi G310, while having some of the best sound quality I�ve ever heard in any phone, is freaking out. Sometimes she�ll pick it up when it�s ringing and it�ll give her �Not Allowed� or something like that. I say she should get a 3390. That way I can order more cell phone covers and it�s for us, baby. Not just me.

Here, cause I love you, I got you a Planet of the Apes cell phone cover.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com