PREV & NEXT

Fence Air Greg Salty Dog 15:7 Doh Beth, Etc.
Friday, Jul. 18, 2003

Those loyal readers (Hi, Alison and Andre) might notice that I�m actually hitting topics rather than just blathering lately. That�s because I�m actually jotting down things on a Post-It� note as the day goes by. I felt the blog was getting a little too random, and since my life is thankfully fairly calm now, I was worried it would get boring. Besides, the fence and air stories would have been here without notes. Maybe even the Salty Dog too.

Ahem�

FENCY LANDGRAB

Kurt Schadenfreude, or whatever his last name is, who lives to the north of me, is putting in a fence. I got home from work on Wednesday and the holes had been dug and some poles set, and other poles were sitting in their holes, but the workers had gone home for the day. I looked and noticed that it wasn�t on the line.

Now, if Kurt had chosen to keep his fence inside his property six inches so no one (including me, sniff sniff) could tie on, that�d be fine, except it�d hurt my feelings a little. However, with my understanding of where the property line is, Kurt�s contractor was putting the fence in a full two feet into his yard. I wasn�t sure how Kurt would feel about this.

Well, Kurt came by and we talked in the front yard. Seems that the fence is actually on the property line. Kurt has been mowing a large part of my yard for over two years. I thanked him for that, and also the Chemlawn. I also asked that the next time Chemlawn comes out for them to really overspray into my yard.

I also got about a foot from the neighbors to the south when they put in their privacy fence. And if they guy behind us hadn�t put his about six feet into his yard, we could put up a privacy fence by putting up less than 25 feet of fence. I think we�ll finish the front off, but leave the pack corners open, since we don�t have a dog or anything.

I�M IN TOUCH WITH THE AIR, DUDE

Ok, at the risk of sounding stupid, having a convertible or keeping the window down in the van has made me really aware of the temperature and humidity of the air and how the day cycles. And not like I have some great knowledge of how the day is or anything, but it�s like I feel more connected to the seasons, more connected to the temperature differences that happen daily. Yeah, I�m all about the delta T and delta t and delta H baby. (Loser.)

GREG CAN�T KEEP A CAR TO SAVE HIS LIFE

Former govt drone co-worker Greg called up. He is selling his 199x (where 0 < x < 4) Miata since he just bought some red racing edition Miata, a 2003. Oh, Greg, I thought you were a Miata person. Don�t you know that since 1994 nothing good has happened to the Miata? If you want keyless entry on a car you can touch both door handles, on the outside, at the same time, whatever. But the post-97 Miatas are heavier and just not as sporty. It�s like they say, �The NB (99+) is a better car, but the NA (90-97) is a better Miata.� Oh, and there was no 1998. Just like there was no 1990 MR2.

SALTY DOG

I thought about my grandfather recently, so when I read someone talking about a Cosmopolitan mixed drink, it reminded me that Grandpa Brockman used to always drink salty dogs. It�s a screwdriver type drink made with grapefruit juice instead with salt around the rim. Good, if you like that kind of thing, I guess.

15:7 AND 52:9

Milton is a fellow who looks a little like a mix between Spike Lee and Grizzly Adams. He also looks like a before picture for either dental work or personal grooming products of any kind. Milton drives a truck which takes a certain kind of waste away from the plant. A kind of waste from the plant that I have tried to learn as little about as possible. Milton has this job because he is a simple man. But yesterday, he had to drive to all five plants and act as the sample taxi, bringing samples into the main laboratory here.

The chain of custody sheet that stays with the sample all it�s life, and then gets filed away forever, is a very important thing. However, Milton put down that the times he picked up and dropped off two different samples were 15:7 and 25:9. Labman and I were trying to determine what these meant, but it was obvious that Milton is dyslexic. I�d never thought about that. I knew he couldn�t read, but I�d never seen him write anything down. We chose to just leave the paperwork like it was, as ADEM and the EPA will never look at any of this crap anyway. Besides, we don�t have the authority to change the data anyway.

SMALL WORLD

I�ve been reading �back issues� of this globe trotting stop-motion animator gal�s blog. I knew she was friends with another blog person I read. But when she went out and hung with Chris Finnegan, a comedian who�s blog I read, I came to the conclustion that NYC is a lie. There is no millions of people. There are only about 200 or so people in NYC.

D�OH! OR DOH!?

I am not a person who puts an apostrophe in my Homer Simpson-esque exclamation. For those playing the home game.

ALTERNATE UNIVERSE SANS BETH AND EMO

When talking to TC earlier, I went on a rant of how weak the heavy metal of my youth was. �You can�t shock me, we�ve heard indie love songs that are more hardcore than that.� I targeted in on Beth by KISS, a truly wretched song. TC started singing it in a whiney voice. I said that I�d like to live in an alternate universe with no Beth song by KISS. And no Emo Phillips. Heck, if Emo was going to do a cover of any song, I�d think that Beth by KISS would be a perfect cover. Though I�m not sure many would realize it wasn�t the original.

DYSLEXIC SPELL CHECK JOKE

Since dyslexic is so hard to spell, I think I need to go to TC�s computer and spell it dislxecy, add it to his dictionary, and then add it to autocorrect. But when does he ever even use Word?

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com