PREV & NEXT

This Coffee I've Drank 6 Cups Of Sucks!
Tuesday, Jul. 15, 2003

Well, Let me just clue you in to this, I�m wired out of my freakin� skull. [So you should read this really really fast.] And I don�t even like this coffee. I was thinking that this crap roast coffee was some random crap that someone bought. But I look at the grande can of Folgers up on the shelf and it�s �Gourmet Select� and indicates that it�s a dark roast.

Dark roast sucks. It�s burnt. It tastes burnt. It messes up the oils which make coffee so nice. Sure, you can drink any old crap bean all burnt up, which is probably the case here, but when you have a medium roast, the kind I like, you have to use decent beans.

And while I�m complaining, you know that movie with the Pirates and the Johnny Depp-ness, Pirates of the �what? Caribbean, right. Now, how did you pronounce it. You said Care-ih-BEE-an. Now, using that pronunciation, tell me you�re going on a cruise down there. Do it. Yep, you sound like a hick.

That�s because Disney�s pushing hick pronunciations on us. Hold on�let me make sure I�m not totally insane her, because I think it�s pronounced Ca-RIB-ee-an.

Hmmph, either way. I tell you, www.M-W.com is run by a bunch of freaks.

So, enough of that, let�s talk tiny escaping turtles.

Last Friday, the operators caught a poor little painted turtle, which one insisted was a �West Asian Bearded Painted Turtle� and that it was worth lots of money (yeah, and you found it, dur), and put the nasty thing in our fish tank.

Monday, it�s not there anymore. Hmm. It was finally found almost in the hallway outside the lab and was put back into the tank. It didn�t escape last night.

Man, that story was supposed to be longer. But I really don�t care for the little guy, or I do, but in a way that I�d like to set him free near the creek or something. The tank really isn�t set up for a turtle, especially not one which will eventually get to be about 8 inches in diameter.

When I got home from work yesterday, I intended to do some chores and play some Grand Theft Auto III (which I consider a total classic). What I did was got the mail and my BWM Films free (but with $3.11 shipping) DVD had come in. It�s case had only partly come in, as it looked as if someone in the postal system had opened and viewed my DVD before me. Grrr. Now I�m waiting for AOL to send me another postal spam so I can use the DVD cases they ship them in for this, since my case is all cracked up so it can�t close anymore.

I�d already seen John Woo�s short, The Hostage. I�d also already seen Ticker and Beat the Devil. I liked Ticker, but I was really disappointed with Beat the Devil. Heck, you�re racing a 78 Firebird with nitrous in a straight line and you beat it with a Z4? I don�t think so.

Ang Lee�s film, The Chosen, was really good, and much more lighthearted than some of the other ones. John Frankenheimer�s Ambush was really well done. It seemed like the shortest one of the bunch, but I know they are all nearly exactly five minutes long. Frankenheimer�s film, like Woo�s, seems like they spend possibly over a million dollars on that five minutes.

Guy Richie�s film was really good too, and I was surprised that Madonna allowed herself to be mocked and made up to look old in it. Whatever. There was also one about photographers in third-world dictatorships and one about Mickey Rourke beating his wife. Oh joy.

When Aisai got home I showed her Frankenheimer�s while we ate a large but calorie challenged salad she picked up while running errands earlier. She asked if we had anything else to watch, since you can�t look down at your food during these actiony things. After the other two, and besides the food was gone then, we looked at the replay TV and saw that, no, we didn�t have anything else.

Since we got so few calories, and since my car looked stunning yesterday since I washed it and waxed only the hood (I got tired and hot in the garage) we went on a drive to Decatur (nearby port city) which also has a Steak & Shake. We shared a Lime Freeze on the way back. We didn�t take a direct way back either.

Since we were stuck behind a truck loaded with lumber which was shedding little bits of sawdust on us (Miata with top down), we took a left when it would be shorter to stay behind him, and came back to Madison through Athens.

And it wasn�t until last night that I saw a sign with both Athens and Florence on it that I realized that the Northwestern Alabama cities are named after Greek and Italian stuff. Meanwhile, Northeastern Alabama has oddities like Arab (long A sound on first A), Scottsboro, and Albertville. And, of course, north central AL has Huntsville, named after John Hunt, the fellow who found the spring which is downtown.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com