PREV & NEXT

Thoughs about Movies
Friday, Jul. 11, 2003

In some ways, I�m kind of glad that everyone is saying The Hulk movie was lame. I consider it a classic, and now, it�s one of MY movies. Not everyone else�s, but mine.

Some of my favorite movies lately have been panned as stinkers. I was just reading a review of that League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (which is a bad title since the spell check caught me on all the words besides Gentlemen (and of)). The reviewer said that he hadn�t seen such a dark, gloomy movie since Daredevil.

Heck, I liked Daredevil. And I don�t normally like Affleck.

The classic everyone hates it but I loved it was A.I. (or A.I.: Artificial Intelligence as they chose to call it at the last minute). It was a classic�s classic. Additionally, Final Fantasy: Spirits Within was great. Much of the computer transparency stuff they used (how the characters interacted with computers) shows up in The Minority Report.

And I�m not sure if MR was well received, I really don�t care, since I LURVED it. It was definitely, if you are me, and I am, the best movie of last year.

Today, I�m supposed to see 28 Days Later, which both Aisai and I keep calling 28 Days, but that�s Sandra Bullock in rehab.

I am so blessed that Aisai doesn�t usually go for chick flicks. Granted, if some amazing chick flick comes out, I�ll see it. I thought the one where the gal had the heart of Captin Ducouny was really good, but I don�t want to see it again. And the one with Sarah Michelle Gellar and the magic crab, yeah, that was good too, I also don�t want to see that again. I also thought Ang Lee�s Pride and Prejudice was a masterpiece, that I don�t want to see again. And honestly, I considered that movie Gladiator which somehow won best picture to be a chick flick, namely because I don�t know a guy who cares a whit about it, and all the ones who liked it were chicks.

Oh, but Amilee, that was really good. I�d like to see that again in about six years.

It seems that I tend to remember movies once they start sometimes. I was really disappointed when we rented The Pacts De Wolf (or whatever) and I remembered how the movie went. I watched the rain fight scene and the cabin �wolf� scene but that was about it. Oh, and I made sure not to miss the poetry, har har har.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com