PREV & NEXT

MX: The Campaign Is Over
Tuesday, Jul. 01, 2003

030619 The Campaign is over

Well, la campana medica is over. We just had a little service and acknowledgement of servicio about una hora ago.

Today, I'm wearing my Dickies and my aquamarine Duofold shirt. I'll really miss this place. I wish I was in charge of the college age kids here, as half of the people who I met were this age.

Notably, Liza, Roxana, y Gerardo. They gave us a little mini song book and many of them signed it for us. All the song books here are just xeroxed.

Right when I was getting good at hablar espanol, it seems like it's time to go. We don�t' really go until Saturday morning, but knowing that my function here is over...

Breakfast was eggs, fried, with a side of tortillas and something made into a thick paste, like harder mashed potatoes. I had two plates of it and three cups of coffee.

I think my favorite breakfast was the one I thought was going to disappoint me the most, the one with the yogurt with seeds and nuts.

Ah, I just heard Liza's voice from outside. I'll miss everyone here.

I cut the hair of a few kids and two adults today. Generally with adults, they try to make sure they know corto pelo, todos de cabeza. I also say "casquete corto" which means that it'll be a short haircut all over.

One man was very old and couldn't sit in the stool and instead sat in a chair. His hair was about seven inches long. When I was done it was a little under an inch. He looked much better. He asked what about his beard when I finished his hair. "A tu casa" and we both laughed. Most people don't expect me hablar espanol.

Yo hablo espanol muy mal, pero las parablas que yo se, yo los pronounce OK. Las personas que yo hablo a habla que yo hablo espanol muy bein. Ellos make it facil since they permit me a hablo en Spanglish, o Espangles.

En 35 minutes, nosotros nessetimos var a la iglesia. A seis hora PM, nosotros tenemos un servicio con cantar y preaching.

Before that, yo quiero applicar mas deoderant y just wind down. That's why I'm typing.

Tomorrow should be sightseeing. We have a river boat thing we'll do and then we'll go to the market. They say marqueta, but I'm not sure how to spell it.

I've been invited by Alison Hill to go with one of the local men sightseeing. It'll be the same route as Steve, Paul, and Derek took two nights ago.

In the middle of town, if yo comprendo verdad, en el medio de marqueta grande de Ciudad de Mexico, es un gigantic statue of an angel, covered with gold. When Paul and them went, when they were still in the car, and they didn't get out, mariachis ran to keep up with the car while playing their music.

Alison doesn't feel well. She can tell that she's got a urinary track infection. I hope that it doesn't get too bad before we get back home. I just asked her if she was thinking about taking the Levaquin, the antibiotic we brought with us in case we got into any situations which transcended Imodium Moments. She said she didn't want to self diagnose and that she'd just take care of it when we got home. Besides, I remembered that she was given some freaky anti-urinary track infection medicine last time.

I'll probably write more tonight, unless I go sight seeing. I still haven't taken pictures of cars yet. Though I've been looking for a Ka that wasn't flying past. They have great little cars here.

I saw a cat on the roof a little while go. Now I see a lizard on a wall outside.

Until last night, talking with some young people, I had never realized how the word mosquito came about. Mosca is fly. Abuela is grandmother, for example, and Abuelita is little grandmother. See?

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com