PREV & NEXT

Cansado y Triste
Tuesday, Jul. 01, 2003

030620 Cansado y Triste

I did go on the little tour last night. So, in the last 24 hours, I've had quite a day.

After service, I took pictures of the girl who hates photos, which is Mary Sanchez Rivera, and was collecting names of people, like her, and also the guy I called Bruno, who is Braulio Marques, and the nurse w/ red hair, Eunice Sanchez Rivera, la hermosa de Mary.

Mary hates having her picture taken, which I have always found to be an irritating schtick, but I had fun with it since she didn't know that I could take a picture without putting the camera to my face. I also made her flinch several times by putting the camera to my face, then on the time when she was irritated with me and pointed at me, I took the picture.

I didn't get to talk to Braulio again, I jut had him sign his name under the discription, "The one I called Bruno" en mi libre.

The monuments were amazing. I went with the driver, the driver's son, and the driver's cousin, which was actually younger than his son. Also Allison, not my Alison (notice the difference in the quantity of L en sus nombres) y Leigh.

First we got in a big traffic jam. I guess that can be considered a landmark in Mexico City, as it happens constantly.

Next was driving past the monument of independence and heading over to Diana, the Greek goddess of something. We walked from the statue of Diana to the monument of independence. From there, we went to the tomb of some guy with a really nice tomb. It has very large lions. Then I think it was to the cathedral, buried pyramid, and a driveby near the mayor's house. The performing arts center, which had a different name, was magnificent. I've never seen such opulence, but then again, I'm from Alabama. Finally, we went to the bread store with the Chinese/Mexican name, "Cafe La Pagoda Restaurante...tan Popular como siempre." Or so it says on the card I picked up when the lady was getting my change.

After that, they wanted to know if we wanted to go to Chapultepec to see the pyramids. I can' t believe that I turned it down, but it was midnight and we did need to et to sleep.

When I got in, I was very excited and talked to Alison alot. If I'd written then, you'd have a much better review of it, since I really liked it, and not I'm cansado, tired.

The alarm on the palm woke Alison up at 5;45. I didn't get up then. I got up in time to get over to the casa de Laborio by seven, as instructed.

We went to the boat place. It was touristy. But for a two hour boat ride for 25ish people, it was only 60 dollars. I tried to pay Gary $20, since the money is burning a hole in my pocket and no one will let me spend money, but Gary wouldn't let me spend it.

I forgot to mention, on the way, the long, long, stuck in traffic for three hours way to the boat place, my companion sitting beside me was a little girl who was, I suppose, seven years old. I'm not used to interacting with kids that age, and she was tired already. It was nice sitting next to her since I'm looking forward to being a dad so much and her and her sister were perfect little kids.

On the way out of the boat thing, I took a picture of a mother dog and her puppies which were less than a week old that were living in a planter near the parking lot.

From the boats to the market I sat on one of the little chairs in the isle of the bus we'd chartered. They really hurt after a while. I had a fellow take a picture of me and Alison at that time.

The market was a disappointment as it was a total tourist trap. It was the "we're artisans" style of trap. I'd much prefer the "we have counterfeit Tommy stuff" style of trap. But Alison bought some trinkets for her co-workers. I bought a ceramic Quetzlcoatl to hand on my wall in my office for $3us.

The trip back to the casa de Laborio was the best part of the day. We were stuck in traffic as usual but the four year old little sister of my pervious travelling companion was sitting next to me. She is the most precious thing ever. She, I suppose, practiced conversation with a sweet little four year old boy which is the son of Jaime Mendoza. For the longest time, she was tickling the neck of the little boy. Then, when she had him in a giggle frenzy, she was saying, "Tu eres una abulita." which means you are a little grandmother. This made him laugh and laugh. Later, when we were stuck next to some pigs being taken to fulfill their purpose, she started saying "tu eres un puercolita" meaning, you are a little female pig. He just rolled with giggling every time.

She started getting tired when we were close to home. Also, there are many elevation changes near the house, and she needed to sit down at times and not play. "Sientese por favor" I'd say to her, and she'd sit.

Another amazing thing she'd do was take out the elastic thing holding her pony tail, gather her hair together better, and put it back up. Just like an grown-up.

But I'm cansado (tired) and a little triste ( sad) since the visit here is over. I told a few people that I wish a new Campana Medico started ma�ana. Pero, yo amo mi familia, casa, etc. Hoy, yo soy cansado.

I said nearly those exact words.

Tomorrow we must be at Laborio's house (I'm saying next door) which is behind the church, at six. The bus or carros will leave at 6:15 at the latest, which to me means around 7.

I need to shower and pack.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com