PREV & NEXT

Interruption in the Mexico Entries
Monday, Jun. 30, 2003

This entry is a short break from all those Mexico entries that I�m posting about a week and a half late. Just too much has happened for me not to blather on.

I think it was Friday, I realized that, I am one of those blogger people that everyone is talking about. They�re not talking about me, per se, but those strange people who feel the need to throw their ideas and the events of their life out into what we in the 90s called Cyberspace. Ah, how the old terms for the Information Superhighway seem dated now.

Well, for lunch today, I fully intended to get two bean burritos from Taco Bell. However, the taco bell near here has bad entrance. From my direction, I make a turn off the service road of �The Parkway� onto a four lane commercial congestion-fest. Within 100 feet, I need to take a left into the Taco Cheesehole, but there is also a road which has more ego-serving lunchy places for the tie-wearing bovines; Wings, Logan�s Roadhouse, O�Charlie�s, and a bunch of dentist offices (which don�t actually serve food).

So, I miss my turn and end up going to the crap of all food places, McDonalds. �Please, salt my pasteburger. Please!!!� Actually, I said, �I�d like a number six combo. And no mayonnaise or ketchup on that.� She asks if I want cheese. Normally I don�t, but I was very hungry, and an extra 100 calories of protein and fat sounded good. I also got a diet coke.

When I got back to the office, I promptly spilled all my fries on the carpet in my office. This carpet was last deep cleaned about four years ago. There is no ten second rule here anyway as we have a lab and I do field work. Well, the Big n� Tasty was enough, and I feel bloated in fact. My pasteburger was salted, so I have nothing to complain about.

I saw the Hulk over the weekend. If you know Ang Lee�s style, and like it, and are fond of spectacle also, then you�ll love it. However, if you don�t know what I mean by Ang Lee�s style, and you�re fond of spectacle, they go to Charlie�s Angels. Not that it�s good, but because I want to punish you.

I still haven�t emailed Gerardo or Liza who both gave me their email addresses. I�m a bum.

I�ve made a pot of that crappy vanilla flavored Folgers that I like and everyone else hates and I kept the burner on the coffee pot off, since I like the coffee better cold anyway.

Man, I sure don�t sound like I�m in a good mood. I am. But in rather a snipey �I feel like a shark rather than a carp� kinda way.

In the future, when technology can do amazing things like keep us from having tangles of wires behind our TVs and stereos, I�m looking forward to them offering vacations where you can be a carp or other river fish for a week. Heck, that�d be sweet. I can see me. Sitting in the water under some milfoil. Ah, this water is exactly the same temperature I am. I�ve eaten. And generally, I�m just a fat carp on a sunny day. Yeah.

And speaking of relaxing, I told Aisai that this Saturday was the first time in months that I have actually relaxed. It was great. I felt like I was a different person than the uptight person I�ve been lately. Part of that was due to waking up and playing video games until noon while Aisai slept, essentially eating Mexican cookies for breakfast. Then we ate at Burger Badboy and zipped to The Hulk.

One of the moments Saturday that was enjoyable but probably seemed like nothing to Aisai was when we went by the gas station that I always use with my city vehicle. That Conoco has the best summer novelty sodas around. I just got my normal Diet Mountain Dew Code Red (when will they make that orange MD a diet?). Then we stayed on the surface roads on the way back home, drinking a diet MDCR and talking.

The letters MDCR have a kind of poetry about their symmetry. Especially in the TNR front I�m typing this in (though my stuffo (blog) has Tahoma, I believe).

Oh, and another reason I might feel more relaxed. The state of VA sent me a little letter telling me that it�s all over. They don�t hate me anymore. There are no warrants, no judgments, and no money disputes. It�s over over over.

The joy that gives me�it seems silly, so I don�t tell anyone about it. But I�ve been so scared for so long about all that. And now, it�s over. Yay.

Now, I just want the BCIS (formerly INS) to get our I-171h form to us so we can get our dossier to China, so I can finally be a dad.

And now�back to the Mexico thingy�(well, next time I post).

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com