PREV & NEXT

I Am Zombie Hear Me Roar
Wednesday, Jun. 11, 2003

So, yesterday I get off work, head outside and it�s a beautiful day, get in the car and drop the top and go errand running.

First errand it to go by knology and give them back their crappy digital converter box. Granted, I loved TechTV and was fond of watching the occasional decent indie film off IFC, but the box would turn itself off every 24 hrs if the channel wasn�t changed. During the week, I�d have TechLive off TechTV to keep this from happening. Before they cancelled it�s run in syndication, Roswell took care of this also. Heck, so did Xplay, formerly Extended Play (which at least makes some old school sense), off TechTV did too. Well, during the weekend we�d get it shutting itself off about once a month and then miss whatever was to record next, which was usually Car and Driver. Also, this second box, as we had to have the other one changed out since it got an ER07 �Failure to Upgrade� and had to be switched, got an ER07 �Failure to Upgrade� too. It took about three hours of vacation pay to meet the guy at the house for him to switch the boxes. Ok, maybe not three, maybe a little over one hour. But anyway.

The channels we�ll miss will be TechTV, IFC, and BBCAmerica. Off TechTV, I liked Extended Play (or now stupidly named Xplay), Fresh Gear, Tech Live, and the occasional special they�d have on. IFC was movies from around the world and indie movies. I rarely watched it, but it was nice anyway. BBCAmerica is where What Not To Wear comes on. Sure, there�s an American version of WNTW but it sucks badly.

I wasn�t the only person returning their box. The fellow behind me told me that he was returning his because they quoted him one price and then his cable bill was $80. I think ours might be like that too since we have the cable modem, which I�m honestly thinking of getting rid of also.

Internet at home is nice, sure, but is it worth $40 a month for me to go upstairs on it about every one out of four days? I do synch my palm to my yahoo address book and calendar�hmm. Something to think about. Yeah, actually, I�m not sure how I�d enter text in the palm and have it on the computer if I didn�t use Yahoo notepad synched with the Palm Memo. Actually, I�d be using slow old Documents To Go with Word. Yuk.

Knology actually also quoted us that the digital cable would be $10 more a month and I think it was $16. Whatever.

So, after I returned that it was back on the road, wind in my stubbly hair, and I headed out to Madison to return Zone of the Enders (abbreviated ZOE by Sony). It�s a battlin� mech game, and a very fast one at that. It was fun, but I had to use the internet to figure out where to go. Not a perfect game by any means, but the combat rocked. Or, as the person who wrote the FAQ about it called the combat �mashing� because it happens so fast that you�re mashing buttons like crazy. I tended to like doing close attacks on the small bots, getting behind them and slashing them, and on the �Mummy� bots I�d get as far away as possible and throw big glowin� orbs o� death at �em.

The problem with returning the game to Movie Gallery was that I needed gas too, and I figured I�d get it in Madison. Madison is a small town with lots and lots of people in it. It�s essentially a suburb of Huntsville, and the Madison�s actually a little bitter about that. Ha. Well, I get stuck in traffic and it�s 90 F out. Pump gas and it�s 90F out. Get stuck in traffic and it�s 90F out. Return the game and then drive home and don�t really get stuck in traffic.

We were to be at my parent�s house at 5:30 to go out to eat for Aisai�s birthday. I got to rest for 15 minutes before hitting the road again. They took us to a catfish place in Guntersville. They used to live out there, but it�s an hour drive. By the time we got home, I was exhausted. Beddy bed bed.

I woke up tired. I need to get more sleep before we head off to Mexico where I�ll be worked all day. Today, I have no errands to run but we have to be at church to do something for the medical mission at 5 pm. We�ll get home at around 8:30. I might play some GTA3 then, but more than likely I�ll go straight to bed.

Thursday, I get some free time after work, as Aisai has to go to the Underground Lair Awards. She�s hoping she can skip out at 6:30. We then need to go to Wal-mart and buy stuff for the trip. Friday night is a get together at Aisai�s mom�s house. Saturday, no plans, but we will have to wake up around 3:30 am on Sunday.

I feel like a corpse now. Yikes.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com