PREV & NEXT

Yeah, Yeah, the Matrix is Cool
Wednesday, Jun. 04, 2003

Since the Anamatrix came out yesterday, somehow I ended up watching it. I had thought that I�d like to, but it was actually Aisai who pushed me out of the house with the command �DVD!�

The TV pickins are slim since all the good stuff was used up in February and May sweeps. I�m not sure if there really is a February sweeps, but I think there was, as there was lots of good TV on then.

With SciFi channel taking Roswell off the air for a while, I was desperate for some kind of show. I like to watch about 2 hrs of TV a day. During sweeps, I feel oppressed by the amount of TV that�s bombarding me. During the summer, I need a show in syndication that I can watch every day. I�m not sure what the show was that summered us last year, but before that it was Star Trek Voyager.

Since Roswell is gone, temporarily though since SciFi has a five year contract on it and I�m sure we�ll see the show sometime in there, I needed a good hour show. I actually tried recording Felicity, which had it�s pilot air yesterday at 6pm on WE. I was able to listen to the main character, which I found I didn�t like, no matter how good she looked on the front of Yahoo magazine a few years ago, for about 20 seconds before deleting the show and then deleting the series from recording.

That�s when Aisai sent me out for a video.

REVIEWISH THING OF THE ANAMATRIX

And I�ll just say, Review of the Anamatrix for those who are googling and the word reviewish didn�t work for.

There are 8 stories on the DVD. It looks like nine, and it�s actually separated into nine, but they should have kept the Second Renaissance parts 1 and 2 connected.

Final Flight of the Osiris � The guys from Final Fantasy Movie are back and making a killer short. And short and killer are the ways to describe it. After a few minutes of them showing off their new skin textures, which they have developed much since FFM, it�s action action action. This is the info that we didn�t know when we saw Matrix Reloaded but was mentioned. The movie stands fine without this, but it would have been nice if we could have seen it before, rather than after, Reloaded.

Second Renaissance � Brilliant and disturbing. From the director of Vampire Hunter D, the history leading up to the machines taking over is shown. Seems like we had what was coming to us, according to this. Oop.

Beyond � From the people who brought us Aeon Flux, which I was never fond of that animation, is the story of a group of humans who catch robots and let them choose which side they�d like to be on. Freaky.

Haunted House (not the real name) � This is my favorite, besides the two canon shorts (Final Flight and Renaissance) because it�s well paced and fun. When I first read a review of this, I was under the impression that the house was in the middle of the country, like I�m used to in western horror movies. Nope, it�s in the middle of a Japanese city. The kids in the area have known about how it is, and how some areas work, for a while. But we see it new when an adult female loses her cat when it walks in there. Favorite parts were the floating can and the shatterbottle, though it was all cool.

Kid�s Story � Remember that kid that thanked Neo when they got off the ship? How he got freed. I think the director of Akira did this one, but with a crazy animation style. Not my favorite.

World Record � Probably the shortest but with great impact. A runner is able to perform incredibly well, mainly because he�s able to mess with the matrix on an unconscious level. But when he�s going way too fast in a race, the agents decide to shut him down a little. But the freeze on him doesn�t work, he is able to run with time stopped. I won�t give away anymore.

Program � Eh, cool, but for some reason I just didn�t dig it. Feudal Japan training program.

Now which one am I forgetting�

Detective � Eh, it�s ok. I saw it months ago at the website.

But I�ve decided that there�s no reason for me to buy the Anamatrix. It�s cool and all, but with the five day rental I can see as much as I want, since there are lots of extras.

I did find out that I have a hard time switching between reading subtitles and listening to speech again. Since the people who made this were both Japanese and American, and the people who made the DVD format respected their original languages enough to actually let us hear their voices, you switch from reading subtitles and listening to Japanese (which I can�t understand) to listening to English.

Besides that, not much yesterday. I should have washed my car, but I was tired when I got home. Aisai made salmon patties, waffle fries, and Yankee cornbread muffins. I also shaved my head before going to bed. Aisai went to bed early and so I had to shave the back of my head on feel alone. I am actually shaving it now, rather than using the trimmer. It stays shorter longer that way.

What I mean by Yankee cornbread is sugary cornbread. In the south, we don�t feel the need to have sugared bread. Well, sometimes, but we call it cake. Yankee cornbread is sweet. This stuff was sweet enough that we should have taken some cream cheese, creamed corn, and powdered sugar and made some corn frosting for it. It was corn cake. But good, mind you.

Today, I�m planning on washing my car and mowing the front yard when I get off work. Thursday, I think I�ll go on a big walk. I need to get in shape. When I only walk with Aisai, we never walk. But then again, we�ve only been trying for this last couple of weeks, and now that Aisai�s sister is in town, things are rather busy. These last two days have been the first time in a while that we weren�t running around or seeing them during the day. I�m not sure what the plan is, but I�d expect that we�d have dinner over there soon.

I�m not sure if I mentioned it, but the unbalancedness of my front tires is gone. I�m not sure what it was. But all speeds are very smooth now.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com