PREV & NEXT

No, I Didn't Get To See The Matrix Reloaded Again Yet
Tuesday, May. 27, 2003

I�m just sick of the fact that it�s socially more hip to dislike the new Matrix movie. I liked it. I liked it a lot. But some people, and I feel that they are the same people who think Enterprise is a good TV show and that DS9 was the best trek besides TOS, take mucho joy at dissing the new matrix movie.

Now, I can diss it also. I agree with the assessment that the Wachowski�s should �put down the bong and back away from the script.� But not because of the opening scene or the highway scene. The rave was painful, and only after Aisai mentioned it days later did I realize that it was a way to get their R rating.

How do you get your R rating in a movie that is loaded with comic action and you need to keep the curse words out of so it can have a decent showing on ABC during May sweeps of 2004? Well, you make a disposable titty scene.

However, Morphy�s speech was just awful. I expected ewoks to come out and hump his leg halfway through. Or to see Jarjar dancing with the titty women. It was a bad time in a great movie series.

But make no mistake, I absolutely love The Matrix Reloaded, with the exception of these two crap instances.

And speaking of crap in beloved movies, if you turn your Phantom Menace DVD to Spanish, all the irritation of Jarjar is gone. He is no longer saying, �Massa Jedi, Massa Jedi, I don�t know nothin� bout birfin� no babies!� He�s just a normal froggy dude. And Jake Busey, or whatever the name of the kid is who plays Anakin, without his irritating voice, he�s fine also. All of the sudden Episode I becomes a great movie.

Too bad I can�t understand but 10% of what they�re saying.

I painted a fake Jackson Pollock painting over the long weekend. I should have left Aisai a little more out of the color selection process as the darker green I wanted would have looked much richer, and less like Martha Stewart�s Bathroom Collection. Besides that, I got a vibrant yellow, a rich dark blue, a very dark grey, and used some of the deep red �Cinnabar� which our bedroom walls are painted. Between splashy layers, I�d put three fans on the thing. It could dry the current layer enough that I could add another layer after about two hours.

Saturday was entirely running around doing stuff and then painting at night. Sunday was super busy, again. Church, Sunday school, eat at We Care Meeting at a barbeque joint that everyone likes but I think sucks, home for 20 minutes, then to the Veteran�s Home where I delivered a hard hitting lesson to people missing their legs, then back home for 30 minutes, then to church for one of the final Mexico Medical Mission Meetings, then evening church, and then a College Age class Video Scavenger Hunt which left Aisai and I at another person�s house with no car and both extremely tired.

As far as video scavenger hunts go, no more. I am not a kid. I am too old for that crap. I should have gone directly to Derek and Lisa�s house and waited for them.

Monday, Memorial Day, I spent five hours detailing the outside of Aisai�s Focus. First I washed it with Dawn to remove any wax that might be on it still (har har). Then I clayed it and I got a lot of crap out of the paint, especially on the sides and back. Well, actually the roof was horrible too. The mirror crispiness of the reflections was restored. Then wash again. Then coat the entire car in Z6 and then start putting on Z2 with four drops of ZFX added. I managed to get two coats of it on before we had to go to Tom and Teri�s house. I was exhausted but had a good time just sitting and talking.

Once home, I put another layer of paint on, did something that wasn�t watching TV since Aisai was �filing�, and then put on the final paint, which I videotaped me doing.

As soon as I started, I realized I didn�t like the way it looked with the black (or very dark grey) as the last color. However, it�s grown on me. I�m done. Now to figure out how to mount this thing.

If after a few months, I don�t like the boldness of the last color being dark, I have plenty of yellow to try to bury the black with, and that�d be striking, but I don�t want to over-yellow the painting. After all, it�s in a red room.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com