PREV & NEXT

SARS Does, In Fact, Suck
Thursday, May. 22, 2003

You may or may not know, but due to the SARS crap, China has suspended it�s adoptions. Though the office that does the matching is still operational, no one who hasn�t been matched will get their info until they�re allowed to. And I do see the point, if SARS got into one of these orphanages, it would kill everyone. The ladies who work in them make sure to cuddle the kids some, so they don�t end up freaky like the Russian orphans.

What this means to me, is not much unless it changes the length of our wait time. I printed the Petition for Adoption this morning before I went to work and Aisai and I will get it notarized maybe today, maybe tomorrow. Then the big packet goes downtown, then to Montgomery, then to Houston, then to our agency in Denver, then to China. Yay.

Over the weekend, Aisai and I went on our first Miata Club Driveout. We felt obligated since my former co-worker Greg was leading it. Greg let me borrow a Motorola FRS radio and I was amazed how well it kept our 14 Miatas coordinated. I bought two GMRS/FRS radios since then. I�m not legally allowed to broadcast on GMRS frequencies, but by having those included in the radio it cut the price about in half.

The road on the way into work has three different places where the land is being earthworked so that a company can plant a building there. It also won�t quit raining. Thus, the road it covered daily with fresh reddish brown clods of Alabama dirt. All of our cars are coated in the stuff. I refuse to wash my car until Friday. The sun looks like it might come out today. Maybe I could wash it today and I wouldn�t get crap on it tomorrow?

Aisai�s mom is in the UK visiting Leeann. She�s be coming back with Leeann and Damian. I�m allegedly, by my own rules, supposed to use code names so it�s more anonymous. However, I don�t like the name that Leeann was given in the past, Dinoback, her old ID on her ISP when she lived here. And Damian, well, he�s a kid. But they�ll all show up around the 29th.

Clayton, a fairly cool coworker who I rarely see, was in the building earlier today. He works out. I told him that everyone was right about the curse of home equipment. Basically, if you buy home equipment, you�ll never use it, and you won�t go out to work out, and that�s the fact, jack. Well, I�m holding steady at 180 lbs. My low carb diet this last month and a half has netted me a total loss of nothing. I weight 180 like it did then. But I think it�s because I�m eating 2000 to 2300 calories a day, about what a person who�d want to maintain this weght would eat. Also, I don�t want to lose more weight, I just want the tummyfat gone and I need some muscles.

Went by a new industry which was an old closed industry which reopened under a new name after laying everyone off about 8 months ago. They had changed the lock on the gate I come in through, so I had to make contact with our contact, Chuck. Chuck, in his time of unemployment, has not only been working out, but it looks like he�s been mail ordering steroids from Turkey or something. He�s a freakin� anvil of a guy now. I paused a bowflex commercial last night when Aisai and I were watching Roswell. �See that guy�s bicep and triceps? Chuck�s forearm is that big.� He�s a tank.

Not that I want to look mucho freako, but I would like some better muscle definition. I�d prefer the more Bruce Lee and Hugh Jackman look, a hard look, rather than the bulbous pects you tend to see from the gym freaks.

Holy cow, the sun�s out. Whoooo!

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com