PREV & NEXT

The Matrix Reloaded Totally Rocks!
Friday, May. 16, 2003

I keep wanting to write about The Matrix: Reloaded. In fact, I wrote a full entry and then decided to ditch it.

I want to do this mainly because of two review things. The first is Quint at AICN. I think also Harry reviewed it and said he didn�t like it, but I didn�t read why. But Quint was really unhappy that the second matrix movie, in his opinion, broke the rules laid down in the first movie. Well, Quint, did you fall asleep during the part where we realized that we didn�t know what the heck the Matrix was anymore?

They didn�t break rules. The Wachowski brothers have been planning this thing, all three movies, for years. The first movie we saw what we could at that level. In the second movie, where they�re not just trying to rescue one of their own in the finale, they�re trying to find out how to shut down the matrix. But, do they even know what the Matrix is? Heck no! Neither do you Quint. Neither do I. Neither does any of the characters (protagonists at least) that we�ve seen. Somethings screwey in Matrixville.

I left the theater, thrilled and wondering what was the matrix. How did some of the things which I saw happen within the framework of the movie. I have a theory, and I think I�m right, but I�ll not say it since to just approach what I think requires background info which would be major spoilers.

The other reviewy thing that gets me is reviews saying �It�s still a great movie despite that the franchise has lots it�s wow factor.� Did we see the same movie? Crap-rolla, did you see the freakin� freeway scene that never ends and only gets faster and crazier?

If you haven�t seen it, go see it. Now, I say that, but if you�re like my mom, you�ll hate it since, well, she tends to hate movies that she doesn�t �get�. And she won�t get this.

I�ll need to see it again to find out if my theory of the Matrix gets disproved in the second film. I don�t think it does. And the first movie wouldn�t be able to give any hints about this, as we weren�t really investigating The Matrix in that one, but Neo.

Which also makes us ask, �What the heck is Neo?� But without knowing what the characters perceive to be the matrix is�who knows what anything is?

Cool things:

Dead Squiddys, Dreadlock Dudes, Irritating Frenchie, Freeway Freeway Freeway, Better Kung Fu, The Philosophy, Oracle�s bird comment, Agent Smith, Bloody Hand, Ontario, Unintentionally Flying Cars (all types), Architect, how the Zion people greeted Neo, and how we don�t know what the heck is going on anymore. Whoo.

Lame things:

Morpheus is a crappy public speaker and he won�t shut up, Stupid titty rave in the middle of my action movie, Irritating Frenchie, having to wait until November for the next one, possibly the Star Trek vibe I got off the other captains in Zion.

And don�t forget, kiddies, there�s footage after the obscenely long credits.

(Note: I don't compare this film to the first, they are apples and oranges. I also consider The Matrix trilogy on the level of the 70s and 80s Star Wars films.)

UPDATED TO ADD:

I worked out Tuesday and my triceps are so sore I can't hold a phone to my head. Also, Aiai just called saying she'd fallen down stairs. I tried to make her feel better by telling her, "You big dummy."

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com