PREV & NEXT

Sturm and Drang
Monday, Apr. 28, 2003

Yikes, I am burning up. I just got home from work and washed my car. But that's not what got me so hot. After getting all sweaty outside, I went upstairs. The upstairs is a pretty sweltering place in the summer. And with the first big summer movie happening this Friday, yeah, it's summer.

I used to really look forward to those times when I'd get into my car after it had been sitting for a while and it be hot inside. I think that can actually happen to some cars when the temp is still in the 40s. But to me, that always meant that summer was about to happen.

I've noticed that since I've been using this little palm to type in all my journal entries that I've gotten a lot more typos. I'll try to be better about that, since the typos are usually horrible stuff like using that instead of what or, the worst, not instead of now.

The money is really flying away from Aisai and I these days, and we haven't even started buying the flooring yet. Aisai spent $52 on garden stuff and a present for my mom, who's birthday is tomorrow. I just spent $25 online buying a five-pound thing of strawberry protein. Also, last night we spent $112 on high tech travel clothes from Campmor. After I did that I used Fandango to buy two Matrix tickets for the 15th at 4 p.m. And, I think Friday, I bought two tickets for X-men 2 which opens this Friday. I also got those for 4 p.m.

Basically, what I got from Campmor is coolmax T-shirts. But I didn't actually get Coolmax since it's cheaper not to.

Today, I searched on what was the best, cheap, travel pants around. What I mean by travel pants is pants that breathe well, absolutely won't wrinkle, can be washed in the sink and will dry overnight hanging on the back of a chair. The odd answer that I found was dumb ol' Dickies, the work clothes.

However, a little looking found that Ben Davis offers work clothes which are decidedly more hip. And it has a gorilla as a logo. But I think a pair of Dickies are in order.

I needed to get a little more proletarian since I've gotten a little higher tech lately.

[Takes sip of Diet Orange Crush.]

Ah, that reminds me. For a microsecond there on Saturday I weighted 179.5 pounds. I remember that when I worked at the Vet, back in I guess 1994, I was 172. So cool.

Not bad for a fellow who was up to 220 less than a year ago (ok, I think more like nearly two years ago.

[Another sip, which isn't a sip at all, but since I'm drinking out of a travel cup, it's hard to get the stuff to get out.]

"Get In My Belly!" I yell to my orange soda. Actually, I don't. I don't want to upset the cats.

And speaking of the cat's feelings. I woke up thirty minutes early today since I reallized that the cats wold run out of food while I was at work. I got up at five rather than five thirty, took a shower, and went and bought some Iam's Hairball Food.

The replaytv just spun up it's hard drive. At 4:42? Nope, it's not recording. "Velvet, get down from there." I did say that. Vel was just as curious as I was about the replaytv for some reason.

I'm still getting used to LapTopHack for my palm. I think I'll have to register it when it starts nagging me. The other excellently rated hack that I'm about to add on, and will be on my machine by the time you read this, is McPhling. It's a most recently used applications pop up menu which is activated by touching home and dragging over to calculator, or any other combo I don't have assigned.

I currently have find to calc assigned as popping up popupcalc, which acts like a keyboard hack rather than an application, but actually does stuff. From menu to home is doing a screen cap, sans title bar, and pasting it to diddlebug. Very handy when deciding to make a reminder to call someone. Just open their info in the address book and cap the screen, then set the alarm.

I actually woke up to my alarm this morning, meaning the one on my palm. It was diddlebug's memo saying CATFOOD for me.

Darker colors are better for travel pants since they don't show sweat or dirt as well. Aisai and I will be going down to Mexico on a medical mission in June and doing it carry on only. Oddly, when I found the Yahoo Group for carry on only, it was full of people adopting from China. Small world.

I�m about to add the following to the list of words I had to look up:

Inculcate

sturm

drang

dyspeptic

absinthe

concision

I�m also about to add the CD Mix titled �Addicted to Roswell� to my CD mix archive listing thing.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com