PREV & NEXT

Sun Burner Gets Chopped Off
Thursday, Apr. 24, 2003

Well, the last thing that I used as a text editor on the Palm was too slow when the file size got big. Now, I'm trying another freeware thing. After this, if this doesn't satisfy, then I'll start looking at encryption pads, just because all the text editors aren't free.

Though, I must say I'm tempted by the Pedit people. Even though I've never even used the program, I know it's good since so many people use it. Plus, the makers of it have a small version of it in the hack called LapTopHack.

A hack is just a system enhancement for the Palm. I have about six hacks installed now. One pops up a different onscreen keyboard. One can turn the screen sideways, I guess for reading ebooks. One is a popup calculator that I can have come up by swiping from Find to Calculator, then I do my math and it can copy the result into the blank that I'm on.

So far so good on this text editor. No slowdown. Though the seats at the kitchen table aren�t very well suited to typing. I have to sit up straight due to the height of the table, but the chairs have a rather relaxed back support angle.

Or, I can do like I just did and scoot my chair up more. Ah, the lovely feel of not using the muscles of your back.

The reason for this quest for a different text editor is that Memopad, or whatever the Palm version is called, cuts off the memo at 4k. Yes, that's K. I suppose it wouldn't be any big deal if it was megs.

This application can take 32k. That's plenty. I think the average stuffo entry, compressed into Palm DOC format, is about 4k.

I don't know what the Palm OS's memopad will do if I were typing in it and hit the magical 4k barrier. I have memopad synch to my Yahoo notepad, and the Yahoo notepad truncates stuff. Meaning, not just stuff you import, but if you were there, typing along, or more realistically cutting and pasting stuff, and you go past their size limit, it will let you. Then, when you look at it again, it's truncced at whatever k their limit is.

I'm not sure what their K limit is, but it's all good since dumb old Megamemo2, which still hasn't seemed to be slowing down as I type like Freewrite did yesterday, only backs up it's memo files as pdb files, or Palm database files. On the PC, these are essentially useless.

However, one thing that Megamemo can do, is export it's memos into Memopad. I believe that it will just section them, Chokkan and Pettan style, if you know what I mean, and I can repeice them from my Yahoo Notepad.

All I need to do is to pull up the Megamemo menu (try saying that three times fast) and tell it to export it to Memopad. This is all in theory for the larger files as far as I'm concerned at this time, as I've not doe it yet.

I think I can feel a resistance in the force, meaning that I think the typing speed is slowing down. Not nearly as bad as yesterday, but pretty noticeable.

However, I think I may have topped 4k at this point. I sure hope so. Just in case, I'll tell you about the two cars that moved over on me.

I know it's commonplace for trucks to not see me in the Miata, but the first car (Accord 2-door, approx 2002+) almost ran into my van (1998 Astro). I honk-honk-honked at her, as I matched her parallelness as we went down the Parkway and she moved over onto me and I moved into the spare lane. If she ever knew, I'll never know. It didn't seem like she ever noticed.

The second one moved over on me while I was driving just slightly higher than the 70 mph speed limit on I-565. This was a 1990ish Maxima driven by the type of almost-40 year old you'd expect to drive a powder blue 1990 Maxima at 50 mph on the interstate and move over onto sporty little fun cars.

Oh, and to add to my foolishness, and by the way, the lag in the typing is gone. I'm wondering if it has some internal packeting stuff that I was on the verge of a while ago, but not I'm in a fresh newpakcet. But back to my foolishness, I think, when my car's tag comes up for renewal in February, that I'll either get a personalized tag or one of the ones with the pretty pictures on it. B

Chop!

Yep, I imported it to memopad and it hacked it at 4k. But, now I know that if I try to add text to memopad once it hits it's 4k limit it beeps at me. I think Memopad's the one I'll use.

Oh, and if I got a personalized tag, it would be SUN BRNR.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com