PREV & NEXT

Real Men Love Audits
Monday, Mar. 31, 2003

So, Friday afternoon we go to visit Shawna. Shawna is in the hospital and isn�t well. In fact, she�s never really all that well, but she�s a great gal. She�s on some lame steroid medicine that makes her puffy looking, which is lame, but that�s better than doing the surgery, since, hey, you can�t undo the surgery.

Well, we hung out with her. Before that I ran down to Hobby Lobby and got a nicer vase than you normally get when buying a vase o� flowers, and some green frosted glass little marble things. I also then got some flowers to put in it and then picked Aisai up.

After about 30 minutes of talking to Shawna, she was starting to wilt so we amscray. We had just enough time to go home and get the desserts we were taking to the coordinators meeting/dinner and then go by a subdivision I saw earlier in the week.

This subdivision has a sign out front saying �Starting at $106k� , but possibly phrased differently. Well, we drive though. It�s great. Like our neighborhood, but it feeds Hamton Cove, Hamton Cove, Huntsville High. Where we are now is Morris, Westlawn, Butler. Theirs is like saying great, great, and OK. Ours is like saying crappy, sucky, and minimum security prison. We found an info box and read the lil� piece o� paper and it was $169k. Hmmph.

When we get to the dinner, it�s fun and all, but the best thing is that the new deacon in charge of the college age delegated everything out. I was glad they put a deacon in charge since I don�t have kids. (See 1 Tim ch 3.)

The previous duties went something like this:

Me � Take care of everything.

Aisai � Take care of everything too.

Poolphish � Take on too many other duties to really have time.

Now, the duties of Aisai and me are:

Me � Printed material (calendars, mailouts, whatever)

Aisai � Retreat Planning

Aisai�s is convenient since she�s already pretty much planned out the July 18 Retreat (Ocoee w/ whitewater rafting) and the December 19th (approx) Retreat (Wheeler Lodge). She also likes researching places to do these kinds of things. And now that we have about 8 people helping, it doesn�t feel so much like damage control anymore. Whoo hoo.

Saturday, we got up and went to Atlanta Bread Co. They were short handed to the point that Ed, the fiancee' of one of the employees', was working behind the counter. They messed up my order in my favor and gave me an extra sesame bagel.

After that we went to Target and bought, if I remember correctly, lots of crap. We then took the food parts of that crap that were needed for the get together at Aisai�s mom�s house that night over there and then went looking at furniture. We saw:

Expensive furniture I didn�t like

Expensive furniture I did like

Cheap furniture I didn�t like

Medium priced furniture I wasn�t thrilled with but�I dunno, maybe

Medium priced furniture that was terribly cool but wasn�t what we were exactly looking for

Mega Cheap chair that was more comfortable than anything else

So, with all that, what�s the deelio.

We�re going to get the Reata Dining Table Base and four Mombo Dining Chairs from Pier 1.

Since that set doesn�t exactly match with what we need (we actually only need some new chairs for our ugly table, but we�ll settle for a new table, glass topped, and 48�, but that can only take 42�, which is the size of the ugly table we have now without it�s leaves in), so for when people are coming over, we�ll also buy a card table and four of the black powdercoat folding chairs that were $9 at Target and were the most comfortable chairs I sat in.

The Reata dining collection has been discontinued due to the fact that it was scaring the older ladies and small children and putting cocker spaniels into �The Rage�, but they�re holding the last one they have here for us until Tuesday.

Saturday night, we went to Aisai�s mom�s house. First, I took Brad�s Ratchet & Clank game and made him earn about 25000 bolts so he could get a Tesla claw. He had come to me asking how to beat the final boss. How you do it is very simple, fight and fight and fight and eventually luck out. Brad didn�t have to luck out, he did it on about the sixth time. I tried it about 30 times, then actually had a revelation about how to do it on Saturday morning and did it on the second time.

But after I got the RYNO, I did it on the first time I went against Blorg (well, with full health, first I tried it and forgot I was nearly dead).

I got the network adapter back from Tom and them on the way home and found out that Auto Modellista sucks as an online game also. It�s up for sale at Half.com for $37 currently. If it doesn�t sell by tomorrow I�m dropping it to $32.

We went to church and then had lunch of leftovers over at Aisai�s mom�s house with Tom and them too. Then Aisai and I went looking for furniture at the consignment shops, but they were closed but the windows let us know we didn�t care about what they had anyway (except those monkey lamps were killer). We ended up at Target some how, but no crap was bought, if I remember correctly.

We then took the Lord�s supper to the shut ins. Mr. Moore actually spoke some, but never really got a full sentence out. At one point he started a story, �I was talking to a policeman once�.� And then he kind of locked up. He has Parkinson�s really bad.

Then we had our Spanish class at church (since we�re going down on a medical mission in June to Mexico City). After it was over, I teacher�s petted a little by saying, �Senora Furgeson, Mi gato se llama Zapato.� And she laughed.

Today at work, I checked the sampler for Wednesday�s deal, I processed and mailed bills, and updated my logs so I can process credits tomorrow.

I have about 60 lbs of papers in my floor that need to be audited. I have a note on my dry erase board saying �Quit Stalling. Be a man. Real men love audits.�

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com