PREV & NEXT

Yesterday: Weird. Today: Surrealer.
Wednesday, Mar. 26, 2003

There�s something interesting I keep wanting to mention here but keep forgetting it. I think it has something to do with driving or cars, but I�m not sure at all. If I remember, I�ll try not to forget it.

Yesterday was odd as far as people emailing me goes. Scubaduck, who I�ve emailed a few times, replied to an email I sent her about two weeks ago. If I remember correctly, I sent a blank email with only a URL of a google search for schefflera, as she had just gotten herself a �Umbrella Plant.� I�d never heard of them referred to as that. I used to call them �Doctor�s Office Plants� before I knew the real name, and I still don�t know how to spell it.

It�s spelled correctly up there but I had google suggest it after I misspelled it so that I�d know. Microsoft Word doesn�t know it.

Well, that email I sent her a week or so ago, she responded to today. Nothing odd about that except that we never email each other. I replied, as I always do being a polite social creature. And about ten minutes later I got an email back. I replied. She replied. I replied again. And that was that. More interaction with this fellow blogger than I�ve had ever.

Matt, my friend from first grade on, emailed me from out of the blue. I replied (stating that my wrist injury was entirely skateboard in nature, that it healed back semi-decently, and that I�m off skateboarding officially, but I�ll not get rid of my board). And sure enough, within minutes he replied back. This too, is odd and I never really have email conversations with him.

I burned TC a CD consisting entirely of the �song� Fingertips off Apollo 18 by They Might Be Giants. Fingertips is a song consisting of 20 small songs. All total, it�s only 4:22 long. The two songs that I have stuck in my head now, due to a lack of closure since they are 22 seconds long and 4 seconds long respectively, are �Fingertips� and �What�s That Blue Thing Doing Here?�

He burned me a CD when he found out I was making him a copy of my current car CD which is nearly all powerpop, or pop, as I�d call it. But now pop is all full of smooth jazz/R&B so normal pop, like I grew up with, has to be reclassified. The CD TC burned was Ben Zweller, which is like a cross between Weezer/TMBG/and Ben Folds.

Just mentioning Ben Folds make me want to add Narcolepsy to my next mix. I went fishing for songs at Epitonic recently so my next mix will be very obtuse. There is a reverb heavy dub song that made me think of how you remember Grateful Dead songs sounding like, but then when you actually listen to them, they suck. I did download the 278 minute long version of Fire On The Mountain last night (if it ever did finish, those dirty hippies have slow internet connections).

Today, I have two appointments of sorts. 11:30, Guadalajara with Dad. 4 pm, Homestudy.

My adrenaline factor due to that second one is through the roof. I�m in surreal natural buzz land due to stress. I used to get this before tests in my chemical engineering days.

A while back, I got out my milk crate full of all the notebooks I had during my CHE bachelors and looked in some of them. I was a freakin� genius then. It looks like I was deciphering how to make the Egyptian pyramids fly or something. I�ve forgotten it all (not really, but I�m overly dramatic today).

I could still design you a fairly efficient distillery on the back of a napkin. A great one if you gave me a day.

I�m not fond of this layout. I�m going to go minimalist again soon.

Oh, and Sony sent me a binder. Last week, they sent me a certificate saying I was an official �Game Advisor.� PR freakiness at best. But yesterday, I got a planner type binder. Inside it had a credit card shaped thing with some codes to get into certain parts of the site, a lot of pages to take notes on, and specially designed pages which hold a manual on one side and a CD/DVD on the back.

They also sent me an email letting me know that I wasn�t set up to be an online beta tester in my Game Advisor profile. Which is odd since I�ve had access to the beta testing site for about a year now. Hmm, I need to go read the announcement board. It�s fun to read about how the network isn�t working for new stuff and that a new disc is coming.

Auto Modellista is released today. I�ll need to get my network adapter back from Brad (nephew) fairly soon.

And Sony knows that I have the adapter (they sent it to me free after all) since I registered it, and through questionnaires, they know I don�t play the online games since �the games aren�t there� for me. AM should change that all. Man, I hope so. I need to get my race on.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com