PREV & NEXT

What Do You Do When You Do Nothing?
Saturday, Mar. 22, 2003

This weekend is supposed to be all about relaxing, and so far it is.

Last night, I got home from work and Aisai was already here. She took off early since she had that Secret Shindig with the Covert Flunkies at her work. She�s the one that takes the cash of the pay at the door people.

Aisai and I had seen each other earlier that day. We closed on the home equity line of credit we�ll be using to help us with our adoption. See, the US govt is rather nice in the fact that it�ll give you a $10,000 tax credit. Yes, credit, not deduction or reduction in taxable income. They�ll actually cut us a big honkin� check the year they give it back. And there�s the rub�the year they give it back, that is. We�ll have to have our daughter legally ours before we can claim any of the cashola we�ve spent getting her here on our taxes. And so far, we�re at least 15 months away from seeing her and 5 grand has already been nickel and dimed away from us from various govt offices and our two agencies. In fact, it�s rather good that it slowed down, since we didn�t anticipate totally running out of money.

Asiai and I met at the bank and got to talk some while lil� Mr. Dude was dealing with the people who were before us. They hadn�t represented what they wanted to do correctly and he had to struggle with that. As usual, and I find this odd, Mr.Dude didn�t really think that Aisai and I were really as laid back and not bothered with the situation as we actually were.

Well, we closed. It was like closing for a house but the initial check was only for $5000 rather than a hundred thousand like when we did our house. I went back to work until 3:15 and Aisai only went back long enough to let people know she was gone since she couldn�t find her supervisor or any of the other accounting droogs when she left earlier.

When I got home from work, I had planned on taking a nap. I rarely take a nap except maybe on Sunday afternoon. And Aisai was actually napping when I got home. So I joined her and Zapato, my girlfriend (cat), joined me. Then Velvet, our supermodel cat, sat on Aisai. We were like hamsters. I think Mouse (Zap�s sister) sat in the window.

When we got up, we went to eat at Casa Blanca and then came home to watch the final Farscape. Wow, was that a freaky ending. I�ll not ruin it, as even if you have never watched the show, the ending of that episode will freak you out. Kudos the the producers. Kaka to Sci-Fi Channel for canceling it in it�s prime. But then again, it did cost about four million an episode to make.

We got to bed around ten, I think. I didn�t bother to look to see what time it was. Aisai woke me up at 8 and asked if we could go eat breakfast at Atlanta Bread Co. Sure. And we did that. I got a sesame bagel, an asiago cheese bagel, normal cream cheese, and a �tall� coffee. I actually said medium coffee as I refuse to say �tall�. Aisai got a chocolate chip bagel, raspberry cream cheese, and a chocolate milk.

Afterward we went to Target and did the little grocery shopping we needed to. Then we went home and sat around.

Aisai had said I wasn�t allowed to detail anything today. But when we got home from grocery shopping I cleaned the roll out cargo cover, conditioned it some protectant, Mothers Back to Blacked the rubber trim, wiring harness, and skid pad on the bumper.

After some sitting around we went out to have a picnic. We drove with the top down even though it was only 61 degrees. It was tolerable, but at 70 mph my ears would get too cold. Aisai braved the crowd at Hel-Mart and got us some lahvash rolled sandwiches, bags of chips, and drinks. I had Diet Mountain Dew Code Red. I also added Iguana Gold sauce to my sandwich since the orangy mayo they added seemed to have no flavor. We wanted to go to Big Springs downtown, but since we�d have to pay for parking, and besides it was crowded, we went to the pond at UAH.

After eating, we fed the geese some leftover italian herb bread that started to mold at home and then went to go look at stuff at Lowe�s. Aisai broke the �don�t spend nothing� rule first by getting a grease pencil. I also looked at the PC 7336, but I�d prefer the 7424, and we also saw some really nice tile we may redo the kitchen with.

Yeah, I flip flopped on the moving thing. I think the magnet school that Brad (nephew) goes to might be good. In any case, I�d rather do some improvements to this and enjoy the house even if we do move later.

After Lowe�s, we went by Autozone and I bought some clay to do Aisai�s car before they both get Zainoed next week, if all goes well.

Since then, we�ve been here. Aisai read a magazine while I just sat with Zapato and listened to blues music and searched for shows on the replaytv. Then I started backing things up and making music CDs (there�s a link over there that lists what CDs I�ve burned this year). Then Aisai called me downstairs for dinner.

We watched Tuesday�s �The Family� while we ate corn chowder (more like bacon chowder the way she makes it) in bread bowls. Now, I�m back up here with the computer. I changed the layout and the tire theme is gone.

And, in a first, I�ve put a picture of myself on my site. Below, it�s a good picture of my house and my car, but the lighting makes me look a little jowly. Plus, that was when I was resisting shaving my head in anticipation of the homestudy, since I wanted to be as �normal� as possible. I couldn�t stand it anymore. I�m head shaved and �first week goateed� right now.

Here, I�ll pat Mouse for you. [pat (Mouse gets startled and makes a crazy meow) pat]

Sheesh, that didn�t go well. Despues.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com