PREV & NEXT

NuFinish and Crap TV
Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2003

Well, Dave Barry�s blog changed. He took away the standard blogspot puppies template and stuck his face all over it. Dave, you sold out.

I felt oddly sick all yesterday. I would drink tons of water and then retain it. I picked up Aisai from work and we got her car from the body shop. Even though all the stuff inside the bumper was smooshed, they just repainted it. Rather irritating, but now that we�ve had two cars there, I know what to expect. I think I like the Toyota dealer�s body shop best.

When we got home, I washed the Miata. It was 50 degrees earlier in the day, so I figured it was plenty warm. Well, it sure wasn�t 50 when I washed it. The water was sooo cold. I should have gotten hot water out of the house. But I did wash it, not wonderfully, but it was washed.

I was washing it since I was going to chuck another layer of NuFinish on the thing. My normal Friday thing of going by the U-Spray-It car wash and just blowing the dirt off the car with the rinse water wasn�t getting the grime off. So, I washed, stored it in the garage, and went inside to recover from the cold.

About thirty minutes of recovery is all I got as we had to go to Hel-Mart and buy groceries. We did so on the cheap, $18. It didn�t take long either.

When we got back, I hooked up the incredibly hot halogen flood light up inside the garage and put as thin a layer of NuFinish as I could on my black non-clearcoated car. I only did the top of the car really. I didn�t get the textured finish sides below the seam, or the bottom of the bumper or the �mouth� of the car.

Then I went in and had hot dogs. I was feeling my glycogen level in my liver might be low, so I had buns too. I nucrowaved them. This is the first time I�ve used the microwave that I got Aisai for Christmas. I did three of them for 40 seconds. One was very hot. The middle one was warm but one end was cold. And by that time I was full.

Since I�m used to eating high calorie foods in small quantities, I really can�t eat all that much anymore. It�s been a month of cycled ketosis so far. I think I�m going to get back to the Targeted Ketosis while still cycling too. That worked well. I think I need more than 50g of carbs a day since I�m not able to pack in the carbs that well on Saturdays.

Aisai was watching Pitch Black, which I forgot how good it was. I think it was on USA and non-letterboxed.

Notice how Letterboxed is a term that has fallen out of favor? It�s all Widescreen these days.

About three weeks ago, we were in Movie Gallery. The lady in front of me was buying a VHS tape rather than renting it. She commented on this to the clerk, her point being that it�s only a few more dollars to buy it than rent it. She also said, �I noticed that most of the videos were in widescreen. I can�t buy those since I don�t have a widescreen TV.� None of us commented on that. I figure if you don�t know what it is, then you don�t like it anyway.

I went out and used up four microfiber towels getting that NuFinish off. And even though I didn�t glop it like I did last time, I still got a little powdery residue. I think it�s just a function of the black paint and me being able to see it.

When I got in, I was more tired (remember me mentioning I felt sick yesterday) and took a shower. I then watched the very end of Pitch Black with Aisai, and then watched Dinner for Five. They had Dom Deluise, Peter Falk, that �I�m a depressed Jew� comic, and the director of Two Days In The Valley. Dom is a very funny man. I very much appreciate throwaway humor. His sanitizing his spoon in the wine was priceless.

I took Smallville off the replaytv�s list of shows to nab. It only took one season for them to lose their focus. Aisai had me remove Trading Spaces too. After they jumped the shark with that live reveal in Las Vegas, oh, they suck. Plus, Where�s Frank? If it wasn�t for Futurama being in syndication, I don�t think I�d have a regular show to watch.

I haven�t watched the last few buffies. I haven�t watched the last few Angel. Both of those are really reaching. It�s the end of the world on both shows, and I don�t care. Surreal Life is the only show that I really am interested in, and I deleted that halfway through last time.

I�ve also removed my Matchgame 74 channel. I guess I kind of like Aisai�s show What Not To Wear, the UK version, not that soon to be cancelled US crap. Endurance (aka Moolah Beach II) has it�s next to last episode on the hard drive now. But the kids that are left are all little jerks.

I don�t really need shows with The Sims sucking my brain dry every chance I give it.

Oh, and of course, since I waxed the car, it�s raining.

But I really just wanted to get some protection on that thing.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com