PREV & NEXT

Ooh, Rock Me, I'm A Deermouse
1/28/3

Hunter Thompson has a great article up today. You can read it at http://espn.go.com/page2/s/thompson/. There�s something about a sports column that�s never about sports that really intrigues me.

Some of the better quotes are as follows:

�That is what happened to me on Sunday when the Raiders self-destructed in the Super Bowl. It was like being crushed by an airplane full of leeches. I knew what it felt like to be a victim of national liberation. ... It was more like walking the plank, actually. There was never any doubt about what was happening to me. It was the most horrible beating in the history of Raider football, possibly in the history of the Super Bowl. ... The 48-21 score was deceptively close; it might as well have been 111-6.�

�And it is well to remember that the overweening spectacle that the rest of the world knows as "American football" is not even played in any other nation on the planet -- except perhaps in Germany, which hosts a sort of NFL experiment league for what is essentially a slave trade for U.S. rejects.�

�The fat went into the fire, and the fire lost.�

�Leeches can be good for you. They are extremely beneficial in treating wounds to the head, face and lower extremities. They will attach themselves and suck with both mouths for 30 consecutive hours, after which they will bloat up and become useless for the next two months and usually die of loneliness.�

I quote all this since I know you won�t go read it.

Oddly, the other blogs that I read are all in the �All About Me� style today. Even the hermit gal. My newest read, however, is Dave Barry�s blogspot place. Yes, that Dave Barry. Here, lookie: http://www.davebarry.blogspot.com/

I have a very stupid meeting in 37 minutes. I�m not mentally or emotionally prepared to sit and listen to others say �We called this meeting to agree that we agreed on something earlier and it�s in paper. Do we all agree?� for an hour. And heck, I think they may ask me stupid questions. I�ll practice my response:

�Yes, I�ll handle it. Sheesh, you freakin� paranoids. How did you ever get past the interview process? I can�t believe I drove here for this and had to hunt for a downtown parking spot. You should all be ashamed. And your parents too. Worthless meatbags!�

I�m wearing my Tampa Buckaneers shirt because I suspected that was the team that won the Superbowl. I asked Labman and he confirmed. I wondered why TC didn�t say anything about it, but then I remembered it�s his wife that likes the Bucks and he�s a Viking man.

I�m redesigning the site. You�ll hate it. Ha.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com