PREV & NEXT

Jub: Jubba Jub Jub...No, I mean Boots!
1/8/3

Well, I just found out that we get free boots from work every year. By the time I retire, I�ll have 19 pairs of boots in reasonably good condition.

I was even told by two separate people, when they pointed to my Wellingtons that I�m wearing for, oh, the 20th time since I got them, �People who do real work and got those kind of boots, they split on them.� To which I said, �Yeah, because they have fat feet.�

I think if you look in the archive or just search google for Armored Pimp Boots, you�ll find the entry. The orangish pimpness of the boots has either worn off or I�m more in touch with my inner pimp.

The boots I�ll get this year are the ones with the cool stainless steel accents. Oh, they rock (sarcasm). Each one is about the size of my car and rather than having composite toe, they�re old school steel toe. Whoo, wake up and smell the 1940s.

It is of note that the people who criticized my boots earlier did have a valid point about the �real work�. I went to college so I wouldn�t have to grunt and use muscles at work. Heck, I�ve got a bowflex at home for that. And I could look like that guy in the bowflex ad too, just work out and shave all the hair off your body. I mean, isn�t it just ookie when you sweat if you�re like �shaved man�.

But I�ll not work out today, that�d be working out four days in a row and I�m not supposed to do that. Rest and all that jazz.

What I�ll do is set up the network. Allegedly setting up the router will be easy. This was told to me by people who spouted all kinds of jargon about who knows what later in the conversation. I don�t know all that junk, I just need my network running at home. Too bad it�s not popular to call it a LAN anymore. My LAN, I need to set up my LAN.

Now, let�s all face facts here though, I�ll not be able to do something. I�ll be missing a cable or something. I�ve been alive too long to think that it�ll actually work today.

And speaking of cables, my boss bought a $16 gold tipped S-video cable because his $40 DVD player he got for Christmas is showing it�s picture, though crisp, in black and white. The troubleshooting section of the manual said that there was a crimp in his S-video cable. However, he wasn�t using one. So he went and bought one.

I am but a spectator.

Well, it�s up to the Director to decide if I get to add those Quake III Arena Boots to my boot collection. Then I�d have:

Hel-Mart Cheapy Boots

Armored Pimp Boots (composite toe, doncha know)

Quake III Arena Boots

But, you ask (you don�t, but it keeps me rambling), why are you wearing the APBs (see above and use synapses) when you obviously normally don�t? Well, I wore the black suede slip-ons that I tend to wear when I�m feeling loungy or am in a hurry. But then I got a call to check something out. I had been there before, and it�s not suede territory.

Coincidentally, last year when we ordered our boots, there I was, among the construction workers and various extras from biker movies, wearing my black suede slip-ons. Was I mocked? Yes. But so what. In fact, I think I said to Bruce, �I have another pair that�s tan, but I got dirt on them so I don�t wear them anymore.� And you know, it�s true. Even the suede cleaner didn�t clean it. Dangit.

My favorite boots ever were my combat boots that I bought when I was in high school. They were great. A close second is the Thouroughgoods that I don�t believe I know how to spell the name of. They were good boots too, and looked just like combat boots.

On the way home, I�m planning on either going by Advance Auto Parts and picking up the Purolator PureOne filter for Aisai�s Focus or going by the K-Mart in Madison and checking what oil they have in 5-quart jugs. Man, I need some stinkin� Mobil 1 in a 5-quart jug.

I�m having typing problems. I keep typing jub. Well, not all the time, just when I�m trying to type jug.

Uh, oh, now I�ve become aware of my typing and the typos are coming out of the woodwork. Later.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com