PREV & NEXT

Doggerel, Doggerel, Doggerel: I Made You Out Of Clay
12/4/2

These days it seems that any time
Someone starts to rhyme
The rhyming starts to smell
Because it�s stinkin� doggerel

Even the hit bands
With all their little fans
Grab the rhyming dictionary
Which they keep with the games, on Pictionary

And when teens want to express love
Without taking off their clothes
They always make bad rhymes
And rhyme things like love with dove

And woe to those to read teen angst poems
Yeah, as if anyone actually does
"Oh, if Johnny only loved me"
Well, he doesn�t, you dweeb.

And when Mother�s day comes around
You know where I�ll be found
In the aisle at Wal-mart
Trying to find a card that�s smart
Or at least not too dumb.

Though it seems that modern birthday cards
Have gotten away from rhyming
Because why bother
If you can just put a picture of a cute dog or kitten on the front.

I don�t even remember the poet who wrote the one
Saying they wish they were a tree
Or something like that, it doesn�t sound fun
I�d be scared of the dog pee

No, I think it was that trees are better than poems
Yeah, I�ll back you up on that
Where�s the petition?

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com