PREV & NEXT

Bad Dreams, The Huck Jam, And Beyond
11/14/2

It�s a busy day. Only 2.5 hours more of work and I take off early at 11. I�ve already posted about 26k of the over $30,000 of credits I need to post. I�m really only halfway through, but I had to do my blog looking. Plus, I get in a fog and start doing the keystrokes on autopilot. I�m so worried that I�ll mess up an account number and accidentally give some random schmoe eleven thousand dollars that was supposed to go to Boeing or something.

I had bad dreams again.

The night before, I dreamed that my dad had called me into a lab type atmosphere to have me explain heat capacities and heat transfer to him for something he was designing. We were attacked by vampires and, well, good thing I was there, I killed them. But I had to do it over and over. Different scenarios. Very taxing on the system and makes you wake up all edgy and unrested.

Last night, there were two main themes. In one part, we had our child. I�ve been reading other people�s accounts of the paper chase, the wait, and then actually going and getting their baby girl from China. Well, we had our kid, and people were trying to take her away. Like steal her. This, via repeated scenario for maximum stress in dreams, eventually translated to me being on a bus in Mexico and having banditos armed in various ways attack the bus. My mind must have decided that I eventually had to win, because at one point I ended up having one of those trendy-for-the-80s Desert Eagle guns.

The moral questionability of shooting the banditos who were trying to steal my daughter, which later left the scenario and was replaced by them just attacking us all, was stressful. Sometimes they didn�t have guns, they had knives, or they didn�t have anything but their own brawn and were just plain threatening people.

This part of the dream I can remember well, because at around 2:50 in the morning, Aisai did a Thundersnore which woke me up. Snores like that shouldn�t be even called snores, they should be called Snorks. Well, she snorked me awake. I told her she was snoring and she said OK, but didn�t lie any different. I knew she�d snork again. And about a minute later, Snork. I asked her to roll over or something so she wouldn�t snore, and she said ok, but didn�t move.

I lay awake waiting for the next snork as the dread of my child being stolen and bandits danced in my head still. Snork. I asked her to please roll over since she�s snorking at me. She did. Yay. Back to deciding whether to shoot the banditos.

The alarm goes off and Aisai springs out of bed like some squirrel in a fabric softener commercial and starts getting ready. Usually, I get up at 5:30 alone as she sleeps. We carpooled today since we�re leaving for Atlanta to see Tony Hawk and his crew at the Boom Boom Huck Jam tonight. You can go to www.boomboomhuckjam.com and see what I�m talking about.

Before that, we�ll meet my sister at her house in Marietta and go eat somewhere. We might eat at Folks, which was formerly Po� Folks, but there seems to be some split in the company. But in any case, my nephew Corey works there. Then we�ll be off to the Philip�s Arena, formerly the Omni, a building totally made of rust.

The Huck Jam starts at 7:30 and Kelley said we should head out from her place no later than six. If the show is three hours long, then we�ll get out at 10:30, which is only 9:30 our time, and we drive back, getting home at one.

No work tomorrow, as we have the college age retreat. I will probably insist on watching Amazing Race and Survivor before we set out on our errands. All we have to do is be at Doublehead with enough food to feed 10 people at 6:30 pm. I refuse to stress it. Aisai is going to Martha Stewart the whole thing. The menu sounds like this so far.

Chili

Fritos

Cheddar Broccoli Muffins

Chinese Cole Slaw

Corn bread (maybe)

And if there�s cornbread, I know there�ll be salad, since we�re talking Asiai here. She likes crumbling it up and treating it like croutons. We�ll also need to get some Chex mix, as we know our crowd well. And I want at least two 2-liters of diet whatever, and then we�ll need coke, and maybe some other novelty drink like Cherry 7-up.

We aren�t responsible for breakfast or lunch the next day, but we�ll try to bring too much for just Friday so that there�s no shortage.

It all ends at 4 on Saturday. We might go see Attack of the Clones on the IMAX Saturday night, but I�m sure that Aisai will either want to stay home or see the new Harry Potter movie. I figure Attack Del Los Eclones will be a Monday thing.

Now, I�ll have to let you go, as I have a locate to do and those credits to post.

If I�ve not told you, a locate is when someone, usually utilities, wants to do construction and I�m one of the people who puts that paint down. Yes, me, and environmental fellow. Not what I�m trained for (Chemical Engineer, anyone remember that here at work?) but it gets me out of the office. Basically, I write OK in green paint after driving in traffic for that 10 seconds of work. I did locates for two hours yesterday. It was really nice out, but Aisai had stolen all my cash so no Diet Mountain Dew Code Red while cruising in my hip 1998 Chevy Astro van.

Busy week, but I�m ok. I got a case of apathy around Monday afternoon and it�s not wearing off.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com