PREV & NEXT

Los 626 Es Totaled
11/1/2

Well, I didn�t really want to buy a car. I�m rather sick of buying cars. But Aisai called State Farm and the 626 is totaled. We�re still paying only $5 per day for the Focus. I was really worried we were paying the full $30.

We�ve got the insurance paying 80% of the Focus price (the insurance rate is $25, just in case you thought I was math challenged) for five days after they make us the offer on the 626. They need to offer us $4900. I think that�s more than likely since they probably go by NADA and Aisai says that the online NADA thing said it was worth $6000.

She�s in agreement with me that her next car will be much simpler. No more V6. No more premium unleaded only. Probably no leather. Heck, I�m thinking just to add balance she needs to pip around in a Geo Metro for a few years. Or a Skylark.

Once Aisai took the Car-o-scope thing at Car Talk and it said for a person with her education, etc, that she should be driving a Buick Skylark. Oh, that made Aisai fume. She�s resented that piece of internet fun for years. I think it said I should be in some boring Subaru or something. This was a few years ago.

Or if Aisai got a pickup truck, we could finally get that stupid tiller out of the garage.

Most likely we�ll be getting a 1996+ Mazda Prot�g�. I think it�s the EX that we want, or maybe it�s ES. I know Honda is the EX. In any case, a civic would be nice, but I don�t think we could get one that had as little miles on it as I�d like for her. I�ve had a 323 and now I have a Miata. I know the Prot�g� is a good car.

What happened was that Woody Anderson gave me the estimate of $2700. They�re authorized by State Farm to do the estimate instead of a real State Farmey guy. They were wrong on two counts. One, they spent $3100 fixing it. Then they handed it back to Aisai with the transmission all trashed.

Poor Asiai, she�s never gotten a wrecked car back and just assumed that driving like crap was part of the deal. Well, it�s not, really. And it broke down, conveniently next to a Subway (the sandwich shop, not a public trans thing. We�re in Alabama. No subways here.).

The tranny will be another $1700 for parts alone, or so it sounds. Maybe that�s total. In any case, that brings the total up to $4800. For this to not total the car, it would have to be worth $6400, which it pretty much is. From this, I guess we can conclude they�ll not offer us more than $6400.

Well, we might go see Ghost Ship this afternoon at five. I figure we�ll eat out, maybe at Qdoba, but I�m sure that Aisai is getting sick of that. Tom�s birthday is on Saturday night, and I think we�ll paint the a few rooms in the house some tomorrow. We also got new curtains made of Indian style tablecloths. Aisai�s mom sewed them up for us. Sunday I have to do the scripture reading at Windsor House (horrible old folks home. If you�re poor, die young).

But mainly, I really need to play more Grand Theft Auto: Vice City. Yeah!

Anyone have a Skylark for sale? (hyuk hyuk hyuk)

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com