PREV & NEXT

Got My Stuff
10/29/2

My blankdecks.com order showed up. I tell ya, when you�re waiting for something it seems like a lot more. The wheels are wheels. The skate tool is a skate tool. The pads are big and stupid, but I�ll wear the wrist ones for at least a month just out of paranoia. The bushings are bushings. The Reds bearings didn�t come in the nicey tin that I�d get if I paid in the 20s for them. They were in some ugly plastic tube. I guess that�s what happens when you save about 40% of their price.

So, I�m all set to skateboard again. Except that I forgot my board at home. Grr. Also it�s threatening rain again.

Yesterday, the stereo finally got installed the rest of the way in my Miata. I dropped it off at Best Buy and Jason, the person who was recommended, spent five and a half hours on my car. He let me know that Miatas are very hard to work on. I only paid $50 for the whole thing. I�m sure that Jason gets paid at least $8 an hour, they messed up three kits trying to Frankenstein mine, so I�m sure that Best Buy actually lost money on it.

Oh, and if you like Kenwood decks, you are dumb. That piece of crap was just that, a piece of crap. Now I no longer long for an 8� woofer in the back. I have bass again. Thank you, Sony. (kisses Sony�s feet)

Aisai bought some spackle so she could fill in the nail holes on the walls that I sanded last week. It was strawberry flavored. Not really, but it was pink and dried to white. However, it actually turned white before I�d think it was ready to sand as Aisai fouled the paper in the sander. I�m not sure if it was improper sanding technique. I�m not sure you could make little pips on the paper if you tried, really, but she did.

While we were waiting, we went to Home Depot and got some tack cloth. I think my silver rings distracted the paint gal and didn�t realize I was married. She touched me. She actually took hold of my left forearm and lead me, actually, down the wrong isle. But who can blame her, after all, they stocked the tack cloth with the tarps. She also hit me with a paint stirrer on the back twice. Aisai was on a different isle looking for the tack cloth. Once she rejoined me, the gal left me alone. Sheesh, and I thought only out of town car rental gals were that forward. Perhaps she was just a touchy person.

Oh, I�m so glad I live in the south where close standers are taken to mental health centers until they stop it. Every time I do run into a close stander they are always from PA or NYC. Here in the south, when we talk, we stand between five and seven feet away from each other, as God intended it. (stomps foot)

As much as I�d love to skate today, I think I�ll actually wash my car as it looks like the guys at Best Buy ate chicken on it. I�ve never seen so many finger prints on a door. Granted, black paint shows off the dirt, but sheesh, it had to have been touched at least 150 times.

When Poolphish came by on Saturday, I made a clean spot on his CRV. My microfiber towels and a little meguars quik detailer and it was like a black mirror on the very front right of his car. Maybe he�ll wash it. Probably not.

I really should wash, clay, and NuFinish the car. I still haven�t clayed it and I can actually feel the unsmoothness of the paint. And now that we�re overcast, NuFinishing can be done without streaks. (NuFinish can be applied at any temp, according to them, but on a black car in the sun it�ll cause streaks.)

I might go skating tonight. Maybe the Time Domain parking lot. Hey, go to the Stuff�rum and read the article about what Time Domain does. Freaky stuff.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com