PREV & NEXT

Shuddup, Old Man!
10/17/2

Well, I went skateboarding yesterday. I can do an old school 180, also known as a kickturn, fairly regularly as long as it�s a frontside. I couldn�t do backside nothing worth anything yesterday. But that tiny lil hill that caused me anxiety (perhaps putting it too strongly, at least it mildly taunted me)..ha..that hill is lame and doesn�t get me near fast enough to have real fun.

I probably went down the thing about six times yesterday. That and kickturns and trying to figure out, for the life of me, how on earth people do manuals.

I did fall, but a great simple fall, roll from butt to back and then get up. I was trying to manual at the time and the skateboard obviously saw something that it thought was more interesting and it just left me. So I plopped rear.

When I got home, had the protein con creatine y honey drink and did the legs. Leg day sucks for two reasons. I only have 210 lbs so the only way to up the intensity is to do more reps (which makes it take forever) and legs are like arms, no matter how hard you push them they don�t seem sore afterward.

Well, except that time I just absolutely killed them.

The killed item this week is my abs. When I said that I couldn�t do 100 situps but I did 100 situps, I wasn�t kidding. I can�t. But I did. And my abs won�t stop bitching about it.

After church and Amazing Race, I had Aisai put tape measure to me and see how I�ve changed in the last month. I can already tell you I didn�t lose a pound. I�m still 200. But I did gain � inch on both upper arms. I lost � inch on all four of the places that I measured around my lower torso. And oddly, I lost � inch on my upper legs. I didn�t think I had any fat there and I know I didn�t lose muscle.

Unfortunately, when I measured myself (I say that but really Aisai does it) back in September, I forgot to do my chest. In fact, I didn�t do my chest last night. However, my upper pectorals have filled in like they have never been. Which says very little, let me tell ya.

Then there was sleep, the second sleep under the faux mink comforter. The cats love it, but they want to be alone with it.

(Easy way to get Aisai to laugh: �I want to be alone with the sandwich.� Heck, NASA Contact might get the reference.)

Ehgya! Coughing fit. Chokin� on my own saliva.

And speaking of Saliva. Their song Click Click Boom is promoting Sam Jackson�s new �I�m a Badass� movie. I�m a little let down on the whole Saliva thing since seeing them in concert. Not mucho lame-o, but at least 20% lame-o.

So, today after work I skated again. Did the hill twice and actually pushed my way back up rather than walking the board up. Mostly frontside kickturns and sorry tictacs. Did a �G I Joe� for a while, but it�s so stupid it made me laugh. I only did two things so well that I went �Ha!� after I finished them.

On the way home, I stopped at Time Domain and went down the Time Domain Picnic hill. It got me fast, but the most adrenaline causing thing is that I ran out of pavement and had to kick the board behind me to keep it out of the wet grass (and mud) so I ended up doing the �run to keep my face off the ground� run. That�s all I did there. Then I packed it up and came home.

Aisai was already here and doing homework. I did the drink and then worked my chest and shoulders. Upright rows seemed much harder today and front shoulder raises seemed easier. I�m going a total of 11 sets of four now. The first three are at 60% of what I do to warm up.

Now, Aisai is at class. I�m not eating until she gets home and then we�ll go out. I can almost guarantee we�ll get bad service since this is my birthday eating out. Well, the first of two. Tomorrow we�ll go to Aisai�s mom�s house for homemade chicken and dumplings.

You have no idea what 67 year old women raised in rural Alabama can do with�whatever chicken and dumplings are made of. These are fluffy, not those sucky store bought dumplings. Feh!

Then Saturday my parents will fatten me up by taking me to Top of the River. This is a real challenge as they specialize in fried catfish. I don�t know what I�ll get, besides the greens and pickled onions and fried pickles. Oh, it�ll be a good meal.

Aisai has my birthday cake half done also. It�s a multi part process. The sheet cake is done and the coconut/pineapple/sour cream (no, not cream cheese, sour cream) stuff is made. I cut the cake in half horizontally and now Aisai needs to put the layers in and then top it with that and whipped cream. It should be made three days in advance and allowed to soak in itself in the refrigerator, but it�ll only get one day.

Tomorrow, I�ll be over 1/3 a century old.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com