PREV & NEXT

Alt.Skate-Board Post
10/9/2

Newsgroups: alt.skate-board
Subject: Re: How'd you start?
References: [anv8u2$[email protected]]
NNTP-Posting-Host: 206.166.230.31
Message-ID: [[email protected]]

"Captain S" wrote in message news:...
I was just wondering how everyone here got started skateboarding... like, what inspired you to go get a board?

Well, I was never really inspired, per se.

When I was a young fella, my parents bought me some cheap 1976 type board. I think it was red, hard plastic, thin, and very hard to control. Actually, maybe they got that for my sister. I forget.

Later, but not much, maybe a year later, the parents get me a Makaha Pro 4, a giant black plastic skateboard. Oh, it rocked. I think you could roll over a car in that thing. I skated, but wasn't really aware of tricks. I fortunately lived on a long gradual hill, so that was fun, and also lived across the street from a school (Mountain Gap on Versailles here in Huntsville). We could jump off curbs with our boards, but not up. I'd never heard of an ollie until I was an adult.

The skateboard coexisted with my bmx bike for a few years, but when my new Schwinn Mag Scrambler SX2000 was stolen from my garage after only two weeks. The insurance money wouldn't get anything over $100 so I bought a Murray 12 speed.

I'm not sure I ever skated on that again, but I do remember when we moved when I was in 9th grade that I packed it. I'll have to ask my parents what happened to it. They won't remember, but there's always the off chance.

So, THPS is a game, yeah, and I've played it. but that's not what brought me back. My nephew had a birthday about a month ago. He loves THPS2 and his friends have skateboards but he didn't. So I got him one. A cheap one, sure, but with a bearing change it'll be completely acceptable.

That cheap board sat in my front room for nearly a month after I ordered it off the internet. I stared at that thing and would examine the no-name trucks. Heck, I even made a mix CD for my car called Skateboard Envy. My stateboard envy also led me to record Tony Hawk's Gigantic Skateboard Tour, where i realized that, while THPS is a cool game, it's skaters like Chalmers who really rock. Transitions, man. That and finding a good long line of tricks. That's what I want to do.

But, hey, I suck. Now, I've bought the best cheap board I could find. A kryptonics board made in China. I've ridden it some, and I'm currently just working on the basics. For example, last night I cured myself of pushing mongo. That changed me from Goofy to regular, and now I turn left very badly.

I'm months or years from ollies. My first "trick" I want is to be able do pop down curbs again. Currently I'm just slaloming parking spots working on my turns and getting my ankles stronger.

I mostly read alt.skate-board for some reassurance that as a medium old guy that I'm not just totally foolish in my playing with skateboards again, especially with my current lack of talent. When I get better, I'll probably start hanging out with some locals who can teach me. But now, I've got issues with the basics.

Plus, I needed to add some cardio. :)

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com