PREV & NEXT

I Can't Think Of A Title
10/8/2

Yesterday when Aisai and I were going to pick the Miata up from best buy, we were listening to a CD that she made off a playlist I had sitting around. When Audiovent�s �We Are The Energy� came on, Aisai started singing along with the chorus. Most of what Aisai listens to is from the radio. She�s more a passive listener than I am. I make mix CDs and end up skipping half the songs after a week.

�Do they play this on the radio?� I asked her. She said that they didn�t. Or at least that she�d never heard it played on the radio or CD101, the station she listens to on the internet.

Well, I live in my own little world is seems. In my little world, �We Are The Energy� was a top ten song about a month ago. At the top of the charts now is �Autobiography of a Nation� by Thursday and �Left Coast Envy� by The Starting Line.

Speaking of music, the show description for Senor Moby�s House of Music on MTV is something like �The artist plays music videos without interference from MTV.� An odd description, but accurate. After all, there�s no way MTV would put on the full video of Kraftwork�s �Musique Non Stop�. But yesterday, something odd happened. MTV is heavily pushing a Andrew W K video for �We Want Fun� which features the cast of Jaskass. They�re doing this since the new Jackass movie is coming out.

When I first heard Andrew W K�s song �Party Hard�, I was waiting for the punchline. His music is very hard and very simple. He is also a caricature of the hard frat-rocker. Not Moby�s normal thing, to say the least.

When Moby announced that song, the last of his set, from very cold Finland, he couldn�t remember the name of the song. Something tells me that the description for Senor Moby�s House of Music might need to be changed.

So, the Miata has new speakers in it. I got some Sony Xplod ones since that�s what my deck is. Unfortunately, I didn�t get my deck put in since when I gave away the �GM Harness� to Geoffery who bought the Saturn, I didn�t realize that it was a Sony to GM harness. I should have chopped the thing in half. Jason, the fellow who installed my speakers, gave me a 1-800 number to call to order the part.

I was given Jason�s name by two different Best Buy employees. He was the one that I wanted installing it if it was a Miata. Jason only did two things wrong, and they are minor. He forgot to put the dynomat in the doors, but he made a note on the receipt and when I come in with the harness to get the head unit put in, then he�ll open the doors back up and put in my dynomat. Also, he scuffed up the passenger door with his shoes. But some Simple Green should take care of that.

The music was really good on the way into work. It being really cold outside and having new speakers will do that. What�s cold have to do with good stereo quality? Well, I�m not going to freeze with the top down.

The sun is now rising as I drive to work. I leave at 6:20 and get there at 6:45. When I leave, there is just the faintest red and gold on the horizon. As I approach the mountains, the sun will actually set, if it�s up, which it isn�t, and then will rise back up as I�m paralleling them as I travel south down the Parkway.

Remember yesterday when I asked, �When did I become goofy foot?� (Translation: When did I start skateboarding with my right foot forward, like a lefty would do, rather than left foot forward?) I�ll tell ya when, when I starting pushin� mongo.

Oh, the shame of it all. Now, granted, studies have been done and it was determined that half of Britain pushes mongo. But that doesn�t make it right. I know people will defend pushing mongo by saying that it helps to smooth out the bumps, but I know that it�s not the right way to ride a skateboard.

Today, weather permitting, I will head out to my lil skate spot and try to cure myself of mongoness.

If you want to know what I�m talking about, if you don�t know already, if you do a search at google for �pushing mongo� you can find a very descriptive and funny site at crailtap. They have both a Mongo Mail and also The Mongo Chart, where instances of pro skaters reverting to their mongo roots are listed.

A few weeks ago, I bought a big can of Brazillian coffee. The Director goes on and on about how he only drinks Columbian, so I had to make this small distinction. I hope it doesn�t suck. I just made my first pot of it.

Other work things, my boss had a migraine last night. He was talking to Labman about it when I came in. He told me all about how he has �the same kinds of headaches that [labman] does�. I told him, �Yeah, I�m a little familiar with those too.� And he went on and on, telling me about how migraines are and how four Tylenol didn�t do anything (dur). I said he needed a good vasoconstrictor. �Blah blah blah,� words flew out of his mouth. He made noises and I made coffee.

I will admit that his decription of a migraine is different than mine. He says he needs to push on the side of his head and move his head around and that noise helps. I�ve never heard of this before. Mine just shut me down. No more light, no more sound, no more touch. I just want to shut off. That�s what the lortab 10s are for.

Heck, I have one here.

I think I�ll give it to my boss for next time.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com