PREV & NEXT

Again With The Klingons?
10/1/2

So, it�s October again. To me October always marks the beginning of a new year. This might have something to do with my birthday being in October.

This year, I�ll be 34. Hard to believe I�ve gotten so old at times. It�s moderately comforting that Gwen Stefani and Tony Hawk are the same age as me.

Though I might write in here when I shave my head again, I don�t think that I�ve mentioned that I haven�t done that since well before our vacation in August. I think I had a full months growth before I dyed my hair black for my vacation. Now that�s grown out somewhat and you can see my normal hair color at the sides. I was hoping that it would have more a brindle effect.

Not only not shaving my head, but for the last three weeks I�ve not shaved my face. Oh, I�ve trimmed down on my neck so that I don�t look like I live in a shack alone in Montana assembling bombs, but other than that I was letting a beard grow.

Well, I got sick of the beard and the hair all at once. This morning I shaved most of the beard off but left some rather large sideburns and a goatee. I look like the Klingon Elvis (ST:TOS here, people).

And no, there was no episode where Kirk met Elvis. Hard to believe that they didn�t find a planet dedicated to that entirely.

You know, if I was living on a planet that had completely designed it�s culture around 1920s Chicago, I�d have one thing to say, and I�d say it loud. �These cars suck!� But I bet the food would be good.

So, tonight I�m planning on shaving my head. The black dye I used a month and a half ago has started fading somewhat. And what does black fade to? In this case, almost a cherrywood burgundy. Not the kind of thing that I need on my head. And worse than that, since my hair is clearly at least an inch long all over, when I get blown by the wind on the way to work (I keep the top down and wear a jacket) I end up looking like a muppet when I get here.

A Klingon Elvis Muppet.

And speaking of things that pertain to Farscape, I can�t belive that the plug got pulled on that show. Oh, I know it�s old news now, but why why why? Sure, each episode costs 1.5 million to make and they do make some crazy crap, almost Lexx like at times, but it was a seller. Someone who has a crap lineup like NBC should pick it up. Actually, I think ABC is more likely to go for it, afterall they ended up snagging Monk from the USA network.

October also means that The Transporter, which is not Star Trek themed, will finally come out. I�ve heard it described that if XXX was fairly plausible, then The Transporter is one step beyond that. I�ll see it since it�s Luc Besson. Luc has made The Professional (where I first realized that Jean Reno was one of my favorite actors, plus, for you little Sci-Fi chippies out there, it�s got Natalie Portman) and The Fifth Element.

I redesigned my workout. I incorporated concepts from the Russians, Big Cat�s ICE program, and information from an anatomy chart to determine what my plan is. From Big Cat I learned that Arnold Schwartzenegger used to do �pump sets.� A pump set is doing three sets at 60% of what you can lift in your normal sets. From the Russians I got that you aren�t supposed to go to failure and that you should do the same weight and not decrease it. Also from Big Cat was that to be serious, you must lift many sets of few reps. He does around 22 sets of six reps.

I tried to do three pump sets and then eight regular sets of eight each. However, even though I only had six exercises for Day 1, with my one minute rest between sets I was over an hour long even when I dropped out the decline bench press and moved the skullcrushers to Day 2. Day 1 is upright row, incline bench press, front shoulder raises, and shrugs. It works my upper pects, delts (anterior, middle, and front, but mostly middle), supraspinatus, traps, and a little triceps.

And yes, I�m sore. I�m a sore upper backed Klingon Elvis Muppet.

But sore is good. But Muppet is bad.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com