PREV & NEXT

No Filter
9/30/2

Yeah, Filter, the band I bought tickets to the Big Spring Jam for, bailed.

I�ll go to their website and see what the deal was. Somebody better have the flu or something.

So, who did I see? I went to see Saliva, who sucked actually. The song Click Click Boom wasn�t performed with much gusto. In fact, the amount of enthusiasm that they were pretending to have for playing for us wasn�t the same that they actually had. I�d have more respect for them, and enjoy the show more, if they got up and said, �We don�t want to be here. You suck. We should have the good timeslot and not Default. Curse curse curse.�

Actually, that Curse curse part could be dropped, but it wasn�t in the actual concert. Between the second and third song, the lead singer realized that the more he said the f-word, the more the crowd, which seemed mostly made up of 14 year old boys from Moulton, would cheer.

And what was with the thigh high stockings pulled up onto the lead singers cubby lil� forearms? Nothing like stupidity like that to make me realize that the band just plain sucks. So, we were only at the jam for about two hours on Saturday. We skipped Default.

Sunday night was when Filter was supposed to play. But instead of them we got The Gin Blossoms. I was actually really impressed with them. They worked the crowd well and really were enthused about playing for us. At first, I thought that he was being sarcastic about the crowd being a rocking crowd. But then I realized that maybe crowd surfing didn�t normally happen at a Gin Blossom concert. After all, it was a Filter crowd for The Gin Blossoms. I knew about 70% of the songs.

Overall, I�m glad that I went. The stand out performances of the weekend were allegedly Nickelback, Martina McBride, Johnny Rivers, Willie Nelson, Eek A Mouse (whatever), and The Gin Blossoms.

I�m sure there were more. Next year, I think I�ll want to do the Jam in more detail. Load up on some protein bars and make a day of it. As it is, I�m not fond of enormous crowds. Saturday night was allegedly over 100,000 people, which though I originally found to be a difficult number to believe, now that I saw the crowds on Sunday again, I think it�s accurate. The paper said that the Jam averaged 85,000 people a day.

Brad got the skateboard I gave him at his birthday, so I got to try it out. Ook. I might be able to leg press 210 around 60 reps, but I can�t balance myself on one foot while pushing with the other when on a skateboard. I told Aisai to take one off my birthday list. If I get one, I�ll buy it myself, just in case it�s a mistake.

Tom decided that he didn�t want to buy the Saturn. Moderately irritating, yes. If I haven�t sold it before the 12th, then that�ll be a full three months that we�ve had it sitting around, paying insurance on it, without needing it.

It was warm enough this morning to drive with the top down on the way to work. I was wearing my hooded black jacket that was made in Saudi Arabia and when I hit 70 mph on 565 the hood tried to jump onto my head. I had to press it down and tuck it behind my back. Perhaps not the best jacket to ride in the convertible in. I just don�t want to break out the leather jacket since it�s not really jacket weather here yet. It�s jacket weather at 70 mph, but not for normal people.

The Six Flags outing for October was also cancelled a while back, so my next concerty/theme parky thing is in November. Tony Hawk�s Boom Boom Huck Jam will be in Atlanta on the 14th of November. Tickets go on sale via Ticketmaster on the 12th of October.

My Birthday is the 18th. I�ll be 900. No, it just feels that way.

And Grand Theft Auto: Vice City comes out on the 22nd.

Oh, and Brad also got Stuntman for the PS2 from his grandmother on his mom�s side. Ooh, that�s the whole reason I jumped the gun and bought a subscription to PSM for them over there. They had been making horrible decisions as far as games went. The worst was when Jess went and bought a brand new game which had a rating of zero. In PSM terms, they wouldn�t level a table with that game. Oddly, the store let her return the game with the reason being that it sucked.

Stuntman had great physics, but after playing I realized the PSM people were right. The game is too confining and too hard. Tom and I gave up on playing it and put in Tony Hawk 3, and Tom doesn�t even do Tony Hawk games. Eventually Tom and Brad played and managed to beat the first and second challenge. This won them some ramps for their free play arena. So now, the only sit down instant fun is playing in the arena with five lil ramps.

The beautiful thing about GTA is that there is so much to do and you honestly don�t have to do it. When Tom borrowed the game, he never even unlocked the second island. When he and Dave, his brother in law, to me Dave would be my wife�s brother�s wife�s sister�s husband, or nothing to me�well, when they would play, they�d just smash things and the goal was to do as many horrible things as possible before the cops killed you.

Well, the entry got too long. I was going to tell you about how some kid barfed on the ground outside the subway that Aisai and I were eating at for lunch on Saturday and I basically threw away most of my meal since�oooh, it� makes me nauseous just thinking about it.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com