PREV & NEXT

Judgement Calls
9/26/2

So, yesterday was the finale of Big Brother. It was lame. The show was really good as they got up to the final two. Yesterday was just the bootees voting on who would win. Seems that the great tactics that Danielle used to get into the final two were only effective to get into the final two. The score was 9 to 1 with Lisa winning.

And how did Lisa win? She flew under the radar and did what people told her to vote wise. Then, in the final challenge she was just stronger, or had more fortitude, than the others.

It was when I was driving today, listening to the oldies station because the rock stations will not shut up in the morning, that I realized that, like Survivor 3 (the one in Africa), that I�m not going to like this Survivor very well.

I think the reason that I really liked Big Brother 3 was the people. They had a knock down drag out great cast. The possible exceptions were the Vegas woman who is now bitter that people are calling her a whorish stripper. But I have to say, Tonya (that�s her name), seems to believe in compartmentalism.

Compartmentalism is the term coined when people were defending Clinton after he slept around, cheating on his wife, and then lying to the courts, when his pals were trying to make the case that he was a hero as far as being a president went. The theory of compartmentalism says you can act one way to one set of people, but be totally different with another. And when we say acting one way, we really mean acting on one set of morals.

People who are racists usually believe in this since, due to their inadequacy, they will choose to hate another group of people and treat them badly but then think they are good people and treat the people they like well. Disgusting.

In any case, Tonya says that she likes to �cut loose� and �go wild� but that she�s still a good mother. I�m sorry, but you can�t be a partying whore and a good mother, separately. You end up being a person who thinks you�re a good mother, when really you�re a party whore mother.

Danielle, the second place person, who gets 50 thousand and can�t really be lumped in with the other losers, believed in compartmentalism. She played the game hard and mean, behind the scenes cheating and lying to everyone but her teammate, Jason, and then was hoping to get the votes of her fellow houseguests based on the fact that she played the game well. I think that�s only something that Rich from Survivor 1 could pull off.

Let�s face it. Just like Kathy should have won Survivor 4 but wasn�t in the final two, Jason was the real best player of Big Brother 3. Lisa and Danielle knew he should have won. But he didn�t. However, unlike Kathy, Jason had that same �I like him� air that � I can�t remember his name� the guy from Survivor II that was a teammate with Alicia�that guy had. Ends up that they still call that guy up to do Survivor commentary.

Jason was good because he was, essentially just that, good. I�m not sure that Jason could ever associate the incorrect actions that a person does as being part of that person. It�s just a mistake they made, and he liked the person despite that. If Josh was hateful to Jerry, Jason could get along with him since Jason thought that it was just some mistake that Josh made, say, calling Jerry a nazi and banging on his bed in the middle of the night, and that Josh didn�t really mean it.

And I�ll have to back Jason on that a little. I�m surrounded by people who make horrible value judgments, mean ones, and I don�t hate them for it. Heck, I got cursed at on the phone yesterday, and while I was upset about it, I�m sure the person is perfectly sociable when hanging out in a relaxed atmosphere, but in this case, he just didn�t understand that the billing was done that way. So, he yelled at me, said it was unfair, cursed, and hung up on me.

Fine, be that way.

Hopefully they just haven�t shown the really fun people on Survivor yet. I�m not counting on it. I know some people really liked Lex from Survivor 3, but I found him to be an alterna-elitist powercow. I also couldn�t get behind Survivor 3�s redneck fellow since I didn�t like how he treated Clarence differently than his other whitey cohorts.

But on the subject of making bad judgments, hey, I know I do it all the time. It�s the financial ones that linger, and are the ones I make the most. I need to stop eating out so much. And as far as foolishness goes, I really want a skateboard. I�m sure that I�ll ride it.

Meanwhile, my mountain bike sits with a total of maybe two hours of riding ever on it, in the garage, behind the lawnmower, and silently cries since I don�t love it.

Maybe I�ll hang my skateboard on the bike when I�m not riding it (the skateboard, not the bike).

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com