PREV & NEXT

The First Step In Ditching The Kronos
7/30/2

Sadness and Mi�rcoles, I would say, if I were in a goofy mood. Which I suppose I am. I strict diet of Egg McMuffins, those six packs of crackers from the machine, and Starbursts from TC�s candy bowl make a person a little off.

The sadness is that I dropped the Kronos off at Best Buy [called Breast Buy by the goofy] so that the Sony stereo head unit could be uninstalled and the old factory one can be reinstalled. I told the installer dude to keep the harness just in case.

And while I�m thinking of goofy names, I�ll list a few:

Taco Bell = Taco Cheese Hole

Burger King = Burger Badboy

McDonald�s = McRonald�s

Subway = Scrubway, The Scrub

Winn Dixie = Wino Dixie, only applies to the one near Aisai�s mom�s house

Wal-Mart = Hel-Mart, but only when written. It�s a shape o� the letters thing.

My only regret is that I never get to say hoi polloi. Never. And when the time does come, I just know I�ll just say riff raff.

I asked the stereo installer dude what the various prices for working on the Miata are.

Install head unit = $50 + $15 for harness + $15 for adapter plate

Install pair of speakers = $40

Install amp = $60

The current dreamland stereo for the Black n� Tan is the following.

1. Replace the door speakers, and thus that horribly irritating blown out speaker. Make sure to get something that can take the load of the Xplod head unit I have. It is 52x4, which is probably about right for peak watts considering this is Sony, not Audiovox or some other brand that survives off the 80s Camaro crowd.

2. Replace the headrest speakers, or at least the ones on my side. Those 3.5s suck. I�ll trim the foam that houses them to make 4x6s fit. However, Best Buy Stereo Installer Dude said that the 4x6s can make the bass, but by the time they have the power to do so, you�re swimming in a sea of midrange. And no, he didn�t phrase it that way.

3. Ampy Amperton of the Amp-Amp Clan. Yes, I�d like to put a medium small amp on the front door speakers. I�m not sure how the wiring goes, since there are the six inch door speakers and also the 1.5 inch tweeters [the Black n� Tan came with the infamous MSSS system (MSSS1 for you in the know types)] so Best Buy might get my cashola on the install.

Basically, there is only one thing that scares me more than messing with the stereo in a car, and that�s plumbing. I don�t do plumbing repairs. Oh, I do, but so badly you�d think that I let a bear have a try at it. The best thing I can say it they don�t leak. They don�t work either, but at least they don�t leak.

So, not terribly dreamworldy on the stereo, but I have to notice that I tend to sell cars with great stereos and buy ones with crap stereos. The Blaupunkt/Panasonic system that I let go in the 323 was excellent. Arguably better than the system in the Kronos, though I really doubt it.

The weak link in the Kronos is that I got cheap speakers for the doors. They distort halfway up the volume of the Xplod, which won�t distort on good speakers until you turn it to 11.

The perfect speakers for the Miata, according to the folks at Miata.net, would be to do the plan that I have above but to put Max-5 3.5 inch speakers in the headrest. They claim they have bass. They have no bass, they are 3.5s. Dur.

And about the Mi�rcoles, Microsoft Word knows enough to automatically capitalize it, but insists that I�ve misspelled merciless.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com