PREV & NEXT

You�re Car Looks Just Like A Hot Wheels
7/20/2

Dear Internet,

I know I�ve been ignoring you lately [except for reading stuff at miata.net�s forum or autopia-carport.com] but that�s because I�m driving my new toy, the Black n� Tan, and detailing it.

Sure, I�m really just cleaning it when it needs it [every other day] and occasionally doing a quick wax job on it, or putting extra polish and a urethane protectant on the front, but the internet is still fun. Whoo hoo.

It�s not you, Internet, that I�m avoiding. Really. It�s the whole inside cathode ray tube experience. Take this quiz:

I would rather be_______.

a. Driving a Brilliant Black [paint code PZ] Miata around on beautiful summer days with little fluffy clouds and the occasional dense foliage overhanging the road so that the cool, cool air of the forest washes over you. And the sun helps work on your tan, too.

b. Watching the new Tony Shaloub show Monk or perhaps Farscape, which is also having new episodes, or perhaps trying to cultivate appreciation for one of the reality shows like The Mole II or Big Brother 3, or napping, or anything else besides being on the computer.

c. Being on the computer.

d. A or B.

Yeah, I tend to shuffle between A, B, and D. Rarely have I gotten the urge to do C, unless that means making a new CD so that I can better do A.

But now, I think I want to do B, since I really dig that Tony Shaloub guy.

You probably know him from Men In Black.

[Hint: He got his head shot off and grew another.]

In other news, I got two compliments on the car today:

1. Aisai and I are headed home, in error since I was actually supposed to be going to Golden China for take out and the Movie Gallery on Huff Road, but it all works out since it was just the scenic route. I�m passing a minivan since it�s accelerating too slowly, but then, when we get to the speed limit, our speeds match and the lady driving it is right next to Aisai. �You�re car looks just like a Hot Wheels.� She calls down at us. I turn to her and say, �Oh, yeah. Thank you.� After that, she turns off into Research Park.

2. After watching the movie �15 Minutes� [which we had to watch a DeNiro flick since the replaytv taped over Heat which we had picked up earlier in the week and had watched about an hour of. The horrible irony being that it got �Spawn� and �Batman and Robin�. Grr.], I headed out to a spray-em-off car wash. I don�t like the one near us because it�s too close and I wanted to drive, and because it doesn�t have a red LED countdown thing. The one that is near Aisai�s mom�s neighborhood does, and it�s only about 17 miles away. It�s located in front of a Winn Dixie [do an internet search if you don�t know] which I call the Wino Dixie, because of, well, the winos that hang out around it. The fellow who approached me when I was spraying the Black n� Tan down had the sad story that he was out of gas for his Crown Victoria and had to get to Shelbyville [where?]. When he first came up I said �Hold on, the clock is ticking� and it was. While he waited, he said �Nice car. I wish I had the money to have one.� I explained that it�s cheaper than you think, that you can pick one up for around $2000 if you go back in time far enough. I gave him 75 cents and told him that would get him halfway there. He didn�t seem thrilled but said it would buy him a half tank of gas and left.

Ok, some loose thread tying here. The older Miata that sold for $2300 to a guy named Masry on Miata.net actually had a Greddy turbo too. Yowsa. Also, I didn�t think about the price of gas and his gas milage. He probably gets around 16 mpg if he�s really lucking out and gas being $1.40, that�d get him eight miles, or basically, on the edge of town.

Besides, he wasn�t going to buy gas anyway. I don�t call it the Wino Dixie for nothing.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com