PREV & NEXT

More Fun With The Black 'n Tan
7/15/2

Sunday we went to church in the 626. Since Aisai didn�t want her hair messed up, and because I didn�t want to drive her mom�s Camry afterward when we went out to eat, we didn�t take the Black n� Tan.

Afterward, we ate at Ruby Tuesday�s and, I have to agree with my mom, I never want to eat there again. We paid $24 and Aisai got sick [she doesn�t think it was her oily French Onion Soup, but I think it was] and I only had a stinkin� chicken sandwich with buffalo sauce and fries. We should have gone to Pepito�s.

Oh, and there is a new Mexican place with the first two letters Qd. I don�t know the rest. Aisai ate there on Friday. One of those open house things that the Underground Lair is privy to because, hey, Underground Lair.

So, Aisai�s feeling sick and it�s a sunny Sunday afternoon. Time to drive all over the place in the Black and Tan. So I drove and showed my parents my new car. Mom insisted that I buy a rollbar. Not the reaction that I was expecting. I thought she�d say it�s not very practical for a couple who�s trying to have kids. Ah, but that�s how I tempt the fates.

In fact, the previous owner bought the car since he knew that his wife and he couldn�t have kids. And, you guessed it, he sold the car when they had kids. I have told Aisai, and she has backed me up on this, that if we do manage to have kids, that I�ll still keep it and just get an old sedan or something in case I have to move bodies around.

So, when dad�s getting driven around in the BnT, he�s talking about the TR3 he had. And I�m sure it reminds him of the TR3. One of the really odd things that Mazda did was, and this is a 1994 car here, rather than having the �ping ping ping� when you have the door open with the key in the ignition, it buzzes. It�s like the Porsche 914 that my dad bought for me to learn how to drive a stick shift in. Actually, it�s like the love child of that car and my old 323.

After driving dad around I did my over the mountain route, but backward. It think I like it backward better really. The harsh turns are easier going up and the smooth turns are nice going down. Plus, the countryside with all the Moomoos and people in the almost countryside mowing with their riding lawnmowers makes for a nice scene, both visually and olfactorially.

Yes, the Black and Tan, while being smell inert itself, brings a whole world of scents to the car. When I had the 323 during the 1990s, I�d have the windows down all the time since it didn�t have an AC. Things that I�d missed since I�ve had the luxury of AC are coming back to me since now I�m lowering the top for driving pleasure rather than temperature control. One of the most enjoyable things is driving through heavily wooded areas and feeling the coolness and smelling the dirt and the bark on the trees.

This morning, it was a little chilly. I put the top down, but about the time I was passing the Space and Rocket Center [not a made up name, look it up] I pulled over and put up the top. I was about to drive into a fog bank and little droplets were already piddling over the windshield corner at me, plus I shaved my head last night and the wind chill on the back of my head was like 1 degree.

My co-workers seem to think it�s pretty neat. I�ll admit it�s fun to drive, but I am at a lull in my thrill for it this morning since I realized that it wasn�t oxidation I was taking off when I polished and waxed [actually it was a urethane product] the front and hood, it was that stupid Turtle Wax Color Cure.

Like the 323, the Black n� Tan has a white undercoat. So when it gets pips out of the paint, they are little white dots. The color cure covered that up. The paint is still near perfect, but has about six dots the size of a grain of salt on the hood.

Oh, and that just steams me.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com