PREV & NEXT

Oh My God, It's Full Of Stars
7/12/2

To say that the Miata is beautiful is an understatement. For a machine made on the other side of the world eight years ago, it�s as close to perfect as I could expect.

Aisai and I went and showed her mom after I picked it up. They did a little bubble bursting pointing out that there are microdents on the trunk, obviously from hail.

It rained tonight. On the way back from Wal-Mart, on the south side of town [approximately 20 miles away], Aisai said, �I feel classy in this car.�

But I�m way ahead of myself. Let�s start where we left off.

Yesterday, after I wrote the Stuffo in the afternoon. I went down stairs and fell asleep on the couch with my contacts in and my boots still on. I woke up when Aisai got home from her class. They let out early again [Aisai says, �Please, keep me the full time. I�m paying for this.�] and so I only slept about two and a half hours.

My contacts had gone gauzy and my ankles hurt like Kathy Bates and her sledge hammer had visited surreptitiously. Aisai couldn�t figure out what to fix for dinner. I suggested Soup-a-dillas [quesadillas from the Cambell�s Soup Cookbook] but she said we had no tortillas. So I said for her to make it like Poppy Chick [Aisai�s family recipie] and we�ll just have it over rice. We had it over egg noodles. Good enough.

We watched Big Brother from Wednesday and Thursday and Worst Case Scenario from Wednesday. Then we went to bed.

Work fell into it�s normal patterns. Today involved going to the lab that can do things which we don�t feel like. It�s in the port city of Decatur. Decatur has a lot of chemical industries. Earlier in life, I really wanted to work at the 3M there. I just love flourochemistry and they make the whole gamut of PTFE products from Flourinert [ever seen one of those TVs that�s underwater? That�s in Flourinert] to plain old Teflon [but not Teflon, since that�s DuPont�s brand name] to Scotchguard.

I could begin to sense that I might get the checks in to buy the car when I found out that it was going to rain all weekend. It�s Alabama. It rarely rains in the summer. Since we�re subtropical, we don�t get that cold in the winter and instead get a rainy season for several months. In the summer, we might get a 30 minute shower, but most of the time the sun doesn�t even bother to stop shining.

I got home and there they were. And they aren�t those cheap courtesy checks that MBNA used to send. It�s an actual check book. And nicely, the first check wasn�t 1 it was 501. I think writing a check number 1 for a car would look odd.

Sean threw in a Mazda oil filter wrench socket thing and a car cover. Just to make sure I knew what was going on, Aisai and I put the top down with him supervising, as he held his child.

Once I was driving back, I could tell that he had driven the car since I had. The seat was too far forward and the mirrors were wrong.

As I said, we went to Aisai�s mom�s house, then ate at Pepito�s. I got #66 which oddly costs less than Combo B and has exactly the same food and then some. After that, we drove further away from the house to the Wal-Mart that is the furthest away from us. I even suggested going to Fayetteville, TN to go to Wal-Mart. Aisai laughed at that. But no, I was serious.

While we were in Wal-Mart it started raining. We drove home in the rain. I wasn�t able to get the Eagle One Wax As You Dry as it was sold out, again. I don�t want to spend much time on the Miata yet. I�ll remove all the wax on it and clay it in a few weeks and then I might put Meguiar�s Gold Class on it or something. I really want to get all Zaino all over it, but I need to save funds for the Vacation.

Yes, we now have a Miata to drive to Tampa in. Cha cha cha.

I just spent some time figuring out the freaky two deck Kenwood stereo in the car. I think I�ll keep it, maybe. It doesn�t have CD text like the Sony does. Rather irritating. But it has both CD and tape and dancy lights. Yeah, I think I�ll get the Xplod put in and maybe sell the Kenwood on Ebay.

From now on, I think the Miata will be known as the Black and Tan.

If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com