PREV & NEXT

It's Not A Poopy Mug
6/19/2

Ok, over the weekend I bought this mug and saucer. I actually bought two: one for me and one for my dad. I also got Dad a bougainvillea and we gave him a�cant remember the name�fast growing, drought tolerant flowering small tree which makes approximately five inch diameter purple flowers�Althea!

Well, about that cup. It�s an exercise in oxidation as far as the glaze goes. It�s a dark aquamarine with rust and comes off very organic. It also has a cloud of smooth white that�s a little transparent on one side of the mug and on a part of the saucer. Well, there is a fly which really likes the way it looks and keeps trying to land on it. I shooed him off, but I know he�ll be around soon.

When I was talking to Labman in the lab, a filter fly flew into my coffee. As I said, it is very organic looking. However, and the flies and me must disagree on this point, I don�t think it looks poopy.

Speaking of animals crowding around something to feed, on the way home, there was a group of black birds on Chris road ripping at a big red object that was in several parts. I was going to not look, thinking it was some road kill that was really all over, but it was actually a pizza. They had already eaten all the toppings and were working on the sauce and crust.

From the color of the sauce and dough, I�m thinking it was Papa John�s.

I tried watching that Dog Eat Dog show, but NBC has decided to prove to everyone that they are the worst network TV channel out there again. It was horrible. I watched the first 10 minutes and deleted it. The Mole was good. Still no one kicked off that I think is the Mole.

Aisai had class. When I got home there was a message from Linen saying that her grandmother-in-law had died. I called her up and talked for about 40 minutes. When Aisai got home, I told her and she called Linen and they talked for a while.

I cooked dinner: Potatoes. Unfortunately, I cooked them at 350 rather than 425 so they weren�t done when Aisai got home. We cut the big Idaho in half and the bigger of the red potatoes and 425ed them for a while as Aisai talked to Linen and I looked at and deleted shows which I told the Replay TV to get and they sucked.

I don�t know if you�re keeping up with the Minority Report reviews, but it looks like it�s bigtime bigtime. Oscar material and Sci-Fi all at once. The last Phillip K. Dick movie that I remember being made was Blade Runner, which was based on �Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?� I can see why they renamed it. And since there is going to be a big Spielberg hoopla, there�s already one on TV. I don�t know if I missed Sugarland Express of if it�s coming on next week on Sunday.

The one thing the ReplayTV really needs is a calendar feature. You can never tell what�s going on.

Oh, and I watched some Computer Chronicle last week when they covered �smart TVs.� The Microsoft UltimateTV is just a WebTV with a digital recorder. I actually like the format of the Replay better than that, but at least the Webtv would put the things to be recorded in chronological order rather than alphabetical. I get tempted by Tivoness, mainly because I don�t know what it�s like.

This morning, I got �other thing envy.� In this case, I was looking forward to the exotic winter days when you can wear a jacket and it�s cold out. In the winter, I get the same thoughts about the summer. It�s the same thing where, for example, I think it would be adventurous to move to Chicago and live there. Even taking a lesser job until I got something like what I�m doing now.

Actually, I think my job is such a nitche that I�m better off not moving. I�m layoff proof, the pay�s not bad [We�ll see if I still say that when I top out], and this job has something that most don�t: a pension.

Yep, a pension. After 25 years here [cough cough], they�ll pay me 50% of my top three years average salary for the rest of my life. Freaky, no?

Ok, time to check the coffee for bugs.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com