PREV & NEXT

All Cars Are Convertibles
6/6/2

There seems to be exactly one webpage with the phrase �All cars are convertibles� on the internet.

And aren�t there like a bazillion web pages? Doesn�t Google claim to have 6.22x10^23 pages profiled?

Well, actually, now there are two.

I�ve had this phrase stuck in my head since I first thought it. Not so much the concept behind it, as I really couldn�t tell you what that is in full detail. I suppose that, while being technically false, I get a bit of a 21st century zen off the phrase. And if people from the 70s can ask me what color my parachute is [to which I say, indignantly, �Well, I never!�] then I can say that all cars are convertibles.

And this, I suppose it�s a colloquialism in my head, isn�t like the other colloquialism that I made up a few years ago:

�It�s like takin� Sunday dinner for a walk.�

In fact, you actually have to say that phrase in a certain way. It�s got a bit of gruffness and Rosco P. Coletrane to it. Not Foghorn Leghorn, though. And definitely not Ernest T. Bass. And at least, I can explain this one easier than I can that car empowerment dada up there.

When you say that some action is like taking Sunday dinner for a walk, you are saying that the person has not just paraded something in front of you or others that is showing off, but that they are showing off in such a ridiculous manner.

Sunday, I had a wonderful honey pepper steak at Applebee�s, my favorite chain restaurant that isn�t fast food. Now, if I had taken that steak outside and paraded it infront of others�heck, I�d strut up and down the boardwalk with it. Ah, everyone would be so envious of me�or think I was a fool.

And, I guess I have to say this too, I actually never say �It�s like takin� Sunday dinner for a walk.� And, I don�t think I have ever, in my whole life, said, �All cars are convertibles.� It is, however, the name of a mix CD that I made for TC�s friend in Seattle. I listened to it some on the way to work. Very good, or at least I think so. But the CD that I�ll be listening to on the way home I titled Junemix 1.

I got the long version of Days Go By by Dirty Vegas last night when I was making the CDs.

I got three birthday presents for Aisai. I�ve already given her two even though her birthday is on Sunday. I gave her a bible [since she lost hers] and a cheap Chinese knock-off Leatherman tool. The other thing, which normally costs around $70 but I got it for $10 [with $5 shipping. Pirates!] will take five to ten business days to get here from when I ordered it on Monday.

Friday night, like tomorrow, we�re having her birthday party at her mom�s house. I feel sad since I have nothing to give her.

Poop.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com