PREV & NEXT

When George Lucas says, "I'm Your Father," I say, "Nooooooooo!"
5/17/2

Well, I saw Star Wars. I liked it. It is a good movie. But it�s not a very good Star Wars movie.

It occurred to me that what I really want George Lucas to do is make more like he made before. And that is what these are supposed to be. But while Han was every bit the contemporary of people in the late 70s, he had class. No one has class now.

Oh, and the script sucked. But it was BoOooootiful. Very much so.

I might see it again in the theater, as I�ve recently been losing sci-fi geek points. I have been making it up in computer/online game/Playstation geek points however, but as Yoda would say...

This bad joke cut short to inform you that the spell check database of Microsoft Word 2000 contains the word Yoda and will underline it in red if you don�t capitalize the Y.

One problem, lesser so in importance than the crap script, was that it seems that you can find the scenes from this movie in other movies. Fifth Element, Blade Runner, any noir film which has a meeting in a stainless steel diner [I was thinking either Heat or Goodfellas...I think it�s Heat], The Matrix [when they are at El Camino Real], and Gladiator were all clear influences.

Oddly, the diner scene struck me as a very nice and enjoyable one. Why? Because it didn�t seem like we were rehashing. It was odd seeing the inside of a library however.

So, Greg the Bunny has been cancelled from Fox. There is no justice in the world. The puppets are being discriminated against. First, the wildly successful Sifl & Olly is cancelled by MTV during the middle 90s and then this. I blame myself, however, as I only watched two episodes and assumed I could just watch the rest in reruns after The Amazing Race was over. It was Survivor 3 which kept me from seeing all but one of The Tick last year.

And the timeslot for Firefly, Joss Wheedon�s new puppy, has been announced. It will be Friday at 8 p.m., running against fairly established Farscape, which is put on by the Sci-Fi channel. That said, I think that Sci-Fi runs Farscape as a B-list show, meaning avoiding sweeps.

All the B-listers are showing up in the next few weeks too. The Mole 2 will have the first couple of episodes rerun on the 28th and then, I think, it is supposed to take a Thursday timeslot. This will work fine since by then, in fact by this next Sunday, Survivor 4 will be over.

But, yeah, stuff like that.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com