PREV & NEXT

TV Talk, Mostly, with Surprise Ending
5/9/2

Yesterday was medium routine. After work, I drove home with the windows down, pining for the Miata that I plan to buy in October, and listening to music loud. Very loud, in fact, when on Interstate 565 and traveling at 70 mph. I do turn it down at intersections when I�m stuck at a light though.

When I get home, I start eating chex mix left over from the card night on Tuesday, grab a diet A&W Root Beer, and play some Wolfenstein. I had a pretty good crew. I was getting top or 2nd highest scores on my team, and we were all being cohesive.

I think my favorite is being a sniper for the allies, but that�s only useful during the first three minutes. After that I�ve lately been carrying around the chain gun. If I�m playing as a nazi, then I tend to be an engineer first [�Defuse the Dynamite!�] and then I�ll switch [�Defend the Objective!�] to a medic. That way when the allies storm the war room and we barely kill them off, and dead nazis are lying around, I can heal them up and we�re good to go.

If you actually play, when I�m in the war room, I like to crouch down behind the steps against the wall. That way I�m out of the fire, but can hit them if they jump onto the war room table. The men who take the real damage on my team, I can fix after all. Plus, I get mucho points for each person I heal.

When Aisai got home, I stopped playing and suggested we just have chex mix for dinner, so we did. I also had a protein drink which I mixed in some Pollander All Fruit, which promptly sank to the bottom. We watched the Smallville and Osbornes before going to church and The Amazing Race after.

Actually, when we got home from church, we talked with Kurt and Melony, our neighbors for quite a while. I had invited them over for card night and they didn�t come, which is fine, but they wanted to let me know it was because Kurt has an abscessed tooth. And how. He was suffering from face puff.

I told him that the look was working for him and that he should shave the eyebrow off that side of his head.

We finished talking in the driveway around 9:40 and then watched The Amazing Race. Then, another typical thing I do, we watched the first bits of the other shows the replaytv has recorded, the part before the theme music intro credits thing.

Oh, and I�m sick of everyone saying that we have a Tivo. We have a ReplayTV which is much more expensive and actually doesn�t miss the shows you want. Tivos have had problems, �Tivomissions�, where they will record what they think you might like rather than a show you have said you absolutely don�t want to miss. Replay is more a show enthusiast�s machine, where Tivo is a TV watcher�s machine.

See, I don�t like TV that much, or so I say. But I really like my shows. Monday to Friday: Angel, Car & Driver, Coming Attractions, Buffy, Smallville, Osbornes, Enterprise, The Amazing Race, Motorweek, Survivor, and Farscape. I may have missed one. Oh, and Aisai is on some big Trading Spaces kick. It�s out daily 1 hr throwaway show.

One thing TV wise that I must insist on is not watching commercials. Now, I don�t mind cute ones like where the Saturn VUE is a snow bunny, but I only want to see it once, or once in a while. What is horrible is that most people will watch all the commercials, even the local cheapo screaming car dealers.

Even before we had the replaytv, we recorded shows and watched them later. But it wasn�t as handy since we used a webtv plus to control the VCR and get the shows for us. The VCR could only record, not record and play at the same time. The replaytv is limited in that it only has one tuner and one decoder. You can watch live [really two second delayed] TV, but not while you�re recording. You can watch what has been recorded just minutes before, or other shows that were recorded earlier, as a show is being recorded, but it can only tune to once station at a time. And clearly, you can only watch, or decode, one show at a time.

The one thing I�d like them to add is a calendar.

Oh, and Tivo costs $10 a month and the replaytv that is all rolled into the price. Tivo usually sell at $300+ and replay at $600+. However, when we got ours, Buy.com didn�t understand the difference [or something] and we got our replaytv for $300. Not the first time that hot-deals.org has helped me get something I really couldn�t afford.

Tonight, we grocery shop and then watch Squirrelvivor. Tomorrow night is free...

...

Crap, I forgot to return the videos and Movie Gallery automatically rechecks them now. Grrr. I guess I will get around to watching the Stallone version of Get Carter.

You always pay fines on the lame movies since you forget you ever got them.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com