PREV & NEXT

Armored Pimp Boots
4/25/2

Yesterday at work, I made some phone calls. It seems we are going to change a city policy and we wanted to know what the policies of surrounding municipalities were. I discovered we are clapping rocks together compared to the other cities. Not that they are rocket scientists, but we are sad cromags chewing on raw trilobites.

I was so consumed by workiness that I wasn�t able to goof off much. And I am a government worker. In fact, when I left early to take the Kronos into the shop, I hadn�t learned a single thing about Miatas. I try to read at least a few tech bulletins each day.

However, while waiting in the waiting room at the Kronos dealer, they had some Sport Compact Car magazines. Man, I really need to get a $30 chromed oil cap for the Kronos. [Joking]. But they had an article about changing out the ECU of a 1995 Miata. So I learned something about Miatas, namely, don�t change out our ECU. When they got the performance ECU in, it only raised their high-end torque by 4.4 foot pounds, while stealing eleven away from the low end.

I�m more of an �advance the timing 14 degrees from TDC� type person, to get more low-end torque. After all, the name of my game is zero to speed limit ASAP without looking rude and then set the cruise control.

The guy who was assigned to me in the service department looked like that fellow who hangs out with that blue dog from Blues Clues, and was just as nice and helpful, so don�t think I�m saying bad things about him. Well, Mr. Blue came out and told me that what was wrong with my car was not one of the three sensors, but the motor to the fan that blows on the radiator. It would only be $135 but they didn�t have part in their inventory. But, they are actually unpacking boxes and scanning stuff into inventory right now, so it might be in.

They offered a ride somewhere so I had them take me home, about four miles.

I try to play some more Gran Turimso 2, but it�s just so primitive compared to GT3. The menus are clunkier and the graphics are about four years behind. At around 4:30, I get a call from the Kronos dealer and the shipment had the fan motor and they installed it and they were washing my car.

Washing being a relative term. They got the paint looking nicer, but they got guk all over my windows.

They van came out to pick me up and Aisai actually got home two minutes before he showed up. The car was $168.

You may have noticed my writing style changed after the ride home part of the story. Yes, time has passed. The boot man showed up and I got some of the pimpiest orangy-brown Wellington boots. They are Iron Age Armor 75 X-tra Lite Armorguard Non-metallic Toe Pimpin� Wellingtons. I got a $75 boot allotment and these were $118 [American] before tax, so I had to pay $45.37 after my allotment.

We used to actually have a uniform allotment, back in the day. [ -2 points for saying �back in the day� ] But the powers that be realized we don�t wear uniforms and would buy lots of pocket T-shirts and boots with the $140. Dang, I had the best pair of boots one year. That was the year I bought two pair and gave the cheapo ones to Tom. Also, people used to order stuff for their sons, etc. So the uniform allotment was taken away from us office workers.

In fact, I was mocked by the field workers for my black suede performance slip-ons. One dude even told me that my silver thumb ring wasn�t manly. I told him I didn�t care what he thought and it made the shoe salesman laugh. They also laughed when I put on the boots and asked if I looked like a pimp.

It really feels like Friday today. Aisai and I will go grocery shopping tonight, and we have two hours of The Amazing Race 2, which oddly on the internet gets abbreviated to TAR2, and a new Survivor tonight. Aisai has been getting Trading Spaces every day.

Oh, and speaking of horrible interior stuff. We�ll be ripping up our carpeting in the bedroom and painting the floor and just putting down a 12x12 rug. The room is 13x13. I�m starting to think this is a bad idea though since the Ikea flooring to cover the floor would be around $250 and the interim solution of having the rug is $200 for the rug. Also, the move away from carpeting is due to Zapato, my best cat ever, peeing on the carpet near the bathroom.

No, she hasn�t peed there since the last time, but as much as I steam clean I still don�t think I get it all up. But she has medicine from the vet [$40] now.

Oh, and I also grabbed a Tampa Bay Mutiny T-shirt off the internet. That�s Tampa�s no longer existing major league soccer team. The logo is a freaky bat.

Time to pimp out with my boots.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com